Black Water by Louise Doughty audiobook

Black Water: A Novel

By Louise Doughty
Read by Richard Burnip

Brilliance Audio 9780374114015
12.70 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.99

    Special Price $12.99

    ISBN: 9781511394246

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

From the author of Apple Tree Yard, a masterful thriller about espionage, love, and redemption John Harper is in hiding in a remote hut on a tropical island. As he lies awake at night, listening to the rain on the roof, he believes his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of what he’s already done. In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own tragic history. They begin an affair, but can they offer each other redemption? Or do the ghosts of the past always catch up with us in the end? Moving between Europe during the Cold War, Civil Rights–era California, and Indonesia during the massacres of 1965 and the subsequent military dictatorship, Black Water explores some of the darkest events of recent history through the story of one troubled man. In this gripping follow-up to Apple Tree Yard, Louise Doughty writes with the intelligence, vivid characterization, and moral ambiguity that make her fiction resonate in the reader's mind long after the final page.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

From the author of Apple Tree Yard, a masterful thriller about espionage, love, and redemption

John Harper is in hiding in a remote hut on a tropical island. As he lies awake at night, listening to the rain on the roof, he believes his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of what he’s already done.

In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own tragic history. They begin an affair, but can they offer each other redemption? Or do the ghosts of the past always catch up with us in the end?

Moving between Europe during the Cold War, Civil Rights–era California, and Indonesia during the massacres of 1965 and the subsequent military dictatorship, Black Water explores some of the darkest events of recent history through the story of one troubled man.

In this gripping follow-up to Apple Tree Yard, Louise Doughty writes with the intelligence, vivid characterization, and moral ambiguity that make her fiction resonate in the reader's mind long after the final page.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Louise Doughty

Author Bio: Louise Doughty

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 12.70
Audience: Adult
Language: English