Every Single Second by Tricia Springstubb audiobook

Every Single Second

By Tricia Springstubb
Read by Arielle DeLisle

Balzer + Bray, HarperCollins 9780062366283
6.80 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $15.00

    ISBN: 9781504734066

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    ISBN: 9781504734073

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

From acclaimed author Tricia Springstubb comes a poignant and topical middle grade novel about the effects of an accidental shooting on family, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Rita Williams-Garcia. Twelve-year-old Nella Sabatini’s life is changing too soon, too fast. Her best friend, Clem, doesn’t seem concerned; she’s busy figuring out the best way to spend the “leap second”—an extra second about to be added to the world’s official clock. The only person who might understand how Nella feels is Angela, but the two of them have gone from being “secret sisters” to not talking at all. Then Angela’s idolized big brother makes a terrible, fatal mistake, one that tears apart their tight-knit community and plunges his family into a whirlwind of harsh publicity and judgment. In the midst of this controversy, Nella is faced with a series of startling revelations about her parents, friends, and neighborhood. As Angela’s situation becomes dangerous, Nella must choose whether to stand by or stand up. Her heart tries to tell her what to do, but can you always trust your heart? The clock ticks down, and in that extra second, past and present merge—the future will be up to her. 

Learn More

Summary

Summary

From acclaimed author Tricia Springstubb comes a poignant and topical middle grade novel about the effects of an accidental shooting on family, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Twelve-year-old Nella Sabatini’s life is changing too soon, too fast. Her best friend, Clem, doesn’t seem concerned; she’s busy figuring out the best way to spend the “leap second”—an extra second about to be added to the world’s official clock. The only person who might understand how Nella feels is Angela, but the two of them have gone from being “secret sisters” to not talking at all.

Then Angela’s idolized big brother makes a terrible, fatal mistake, one that tears apart their tight-knit community and plunges his family into a whirlwind of harsh publicity and judgment. In the midst of this controversy, Nella is faced with a series of startling revelations about her parents, friends, and neighborhood. As Angela’s situation becomes dangerous, Nella must choose whether to stand by or stand up. Her heart tries to tell her what to do, but can you always trust your heart? The clock ticks down, and in that extra second, past and present merge—the future will be up to her. 

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“With an engaging protagonist, a fast-moving story, important themes subtly conveyed, and touches of humor, this is a richly layered story.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Nella’s growing awareness of endings and beginnings, the meaning of friendship, and the power of choices combine to create an unsettling, compelling, and heartwarming tale.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Raises questions about fate, faith, loyalty, and justice…[and] the notion that what occurs in a single second can change the course of events.” School Library Journal
“A complex and rich tale, one that will have readers pondering, along with Nella, life’s big questions.” Horn Book
“Rich in complex issues that include caring for the elderly, the problems of friendship, and the role of God in everyday life.” Booklist
“Narrator Arielle DeLisle channels the emotional core of this contemporary coming-of-age story…Using a clipped, bright delivery to start, DeLisle highlights Nella’s outwardly breezy personality; later she slows down and softens her voice to signal the young teen’s troubled thoughts as she tries to make sense of the world around her…DeLisle’s expressive performance is sure to engage young listeners.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tricia Springstubb

Author Bio: Tricia Springstubb

Tricia Springstubb is an author of children’s and young-adult fiction. She has won the Iowa Review Prize for fiction. She has worked as a Head Start teacher and a children’s librarian.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.80
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English