An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon audiobook

An Unkindness of Ghosts

By Rivers Solomon
Read by Cherise Boothe

Blackstone Publishing 9781617755880
11.90 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781538474990

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781538475003

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

Aster has little to offer folks in the way of rebuttal when they call her ogre and freak. She’s used to the names; she only wishes there was more truth to them. If she were truly a monster, she’d be powerful enough to tear down the walls around her until nothing remains of her world. Aster lives in the lowdeck slums of the HSS Matilda, a space vessel organized much like the antebellum South. For generations, Matilda has ferried the last of humanity to a mythical Promised Land. On its way, the ship’s leaders have imposed harsh moral restrictions and deep indignities on dark-skinned sharecroppers like Aster. Embroiled in a grudge with a brutal overseer, Aster learns there may be a way to improve her lot—if she’s willing to sow the seeds of civil war.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the 2018 Locus Award for Best First Novel

Finalist for the Lambda Literary Award

A BookRiot Pick of the Best 25 Science Fiction Audiobooks

A Paste Magazine Pick of 2017's Best Audiobooks

An NPR Best Book of 2017

A Barnes & Noble Pick of 4 Books with Awesome Autistic Protagonists

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2017

A Los Angeles Review of Books Pick for a Rainbow Pride Reading List

A BookRiot Pick of Books to Read If You Miss Doctor Who

A Library Journal Editor’s Pick

A BuzzFeed Books Pick of Books to Read This Fall

Aster has little to offer folks in the way of rebuttal when they call her ogre and freak. She’s used to the names; she only wishes there was more truth to them. If she were truly a monster, she’d be powerful enough to tear down the walls around her until nothing remains of her world.

Aster lives in the lowdeck slums of the HSS Matilda, a space vessel organized much like the antebellum South. For generations, Matilda has ferried the last of humanity to a mythical Promised Land. On its way, the ship’s leaders have imposed harsh moral restrictions and deep indignities on dark-skinned sharecroppers like Aster. Embroiled in a grudge with a brutal overseer, Aster learns there may be a way to improve her lot—if she’s willing to sow the seeds of civil war.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Immediately immersive and sophisticated…This is a phenomenal piece of work.” Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“The more I read the bigger I felt, falling down a rabbit-hole of sky and wanting only to go deeper and farther with every page.“ NPR
“What the audiobook does that the printed word can’t is layer in accents on top of these grammatical distinctions in identity, which Cherise Booth does using mainly Caribbean variants. This gives an already emotionally challenging book even more depth, but trust that it is worth it.” Paste magazine (audio review)
“Narrator Cherise Boothe has her hands full with this story…With each section having its own patois and the rulers their own stiff language, Boothe must juggle a dozen different accents and dialects, and she does so with ease.” AudioFile
“It’s structurally and thematically daring and manages to include a little bit of hope while leveling a devastating critique at racism and fascism.” Los Angeles Times
“Think the class system on the decks of the Titanic meets Battlestar Galactica…The main character, Aster, is amazing and complex.” BookRiot
"[A] highly imaginative sci-fi novel.” BuzzFeed
“Highly recommended for anyone interested in the ever-growing field of SF which is invested in engaging with race, gender, and sexuality as an integral part of any vision of the future.” IndiePicks Magazine
“A raw distillation of slavery, feudalism, prison, and religion that kicks like rotgut moonshine…This is worldbuilding by poetry…Stunning.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Suffused with the past, the present, and the future of human experiences in its events, An Unkindness of Ghosts launches the career of a brilliantly gifted and important new writer in science fiction.” Foreword Reviews (starred reviews)
“Harrowing and beautiful, this is sf at its best: showing the possible future but warning of the danger of bringing old prejudices and cruelties to that new world…Fully rounded characters bring nuance and genuine pathos to this amazing debut.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Infused with the spirit of Octavia Butler and loaded with meaning for the present day…Solomon’s impassioned, speculative, literary book is sorely needed on library shelves.” Booklist
“An entertaining novel that does not neglect the vitality of its story while probing society’s assumptions.” Kirkus Reviews
“A heady science fiction novel that speaks directly to some of the most pressing political and social concerns of the modern day. And yet for all that, it remains deeply humane…This is a book you’ll want to read now so you can tell your friends you read it first.” Victor LaValle, author of The Changeling
“Imaginative in the vein of Colson Whitehead, Samuel R. Delany, and Octavia E. Butler, this novel explores the struggles of slum dwellers aboard a spacecraft sadly reminiscent of our own world. With outstanding world-building and an unforgettable protagonist, this is a notable debut by an author whose work I look forward to reading for years to come.” Tananarive Due, author of Ghost Summer

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rivers Solomon

Author Bio: Rivers Solomon

Rivers Solomon is the author of An Unkindness of Ghosts and has twice been a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. Rivers Solomon graduated from Stanford University with a degree in comparative studies in race and ethnicity and holds an MFA in fiction from the Michener Center for Writers.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 11.90
Audience: Adult
Language: English