The Mitford Murders by Jessica Fellowes audiobook

The Mitford Murders: A Mystery

By Jessica Fellowes
Read by Rachel Atkins

Macmillan Audio 9781250170781

The Mitford Murders Series: Book 1

11.76 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $50.99

    Special Price $25.00

    ISBN: 9781250296740

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

*Named one of the best audiobooks of 2017 by The Times (UK)* This program includes a bonus interview with the author "The pleasures of this English murder mystery, set in 1920, are many. Rachel Atkins's crisp performance is just right...A concluding interview with author Jessica Fellowes, who wrote the "Downtown Abbey" companion books, promises more in this fun, well-narrated series, each set around a real-life unsolved murder." — AudioFile Magazine Set amid the legendary Mitford household, a thrilling Golden Age-style mystery, based on a real unsolved murder, by Jessica Fellowes, author of the New York Times bestselling Downton Abbey books. It's 1920, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London. Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nursemaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy, an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories. But then a nurse—Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake—is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret... Based on an unsolved crime and written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the New York Times bestselling Downton Abbey companion books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of classic murder mysteries. More praise for The Mitford Murders: "A real murder, a real family and a brand new crime fiction heroine are woven together to make a fascinating, and highly enjoyable, read. I loved it." — Julian Fellowes, creator and writer of Downton Abbey and Belgravia

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A London Times Pick of Best Audiobooks of the Year

A BookPage Top Pick of Classic Whodunits for Private Eye July

*Named one of the best audiobooks of 2017 by The Times (UK)*

This program includes a bonus interview with the author

"The pleasures of this English murder mystery, set in 1920, are many. Rachel Atkins's crisp performance is just right...A concluding interview with author Jessica Fellowes, who wrote the "Downtown Abbey" companion books, promises more in this fun, well-narrated series, each set around a real-life unsolved murder." — AudioFile Magazine

Set amid the legendary Mitford household, a thrilling Golden Age-style mystery, based on a real unsolved murder, by Jessica Fellowes, author of the New York Times bestselling Downton Abbey books.

It's 1920, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London.

Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nursemaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy, an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But then a nurse—Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake—is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret...

Based on an unsolved crime and written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the New York Times bestselling Downton Abbey companion books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of classic murder mysteries.

More praise for The Mitford Murders:

"A real murder, a real family and a brand new crime fiction heroine are woven together to make a fascinating, and highly enjoyable, read. I loved it." — Julian Fellowes, creator and writer of Downton Abbey and Belgravia

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

A lively, well-written, entertaining whodunit of the old-fashioned school—and that is meant as a compliment. The Times (UK)
True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a golden age mystery. Daisy Goodwin, author of Victoria and The American Heiress
This is a chocolate soufflé of a novel: as the enthralling mystery heats up, so the addictive deliciousness of the story rises. But The Mitford Murders is not only an ingeniously twisty thriller; it is also a heart-wrenching, heart-healing story about friendship, trust, betrayal and love: the sort of book you never want to end. Juliet Nicolson, author of A House Full of Daughters“There are several ready-made markets for this novel by the niece of the writer Julian Fellowes: fans of Downton Abbey, aficionados of Golden Age crime, and those with an appetite for the privileged world of the Mitford sisters.
Meet the new Downton-style detectives....An adroitly handled murder mystery that keeps the reader guessing to the end...an accomplished crime debut and huge fun to read. Evening Standard
The Mitford Murders are very much in the ilk of an Agatha Christie novel...Perfect for those missing their Downton Abbey fix. Belfast Telegraph
A Golden Age homage that flits between an England broken by World War I and the gilded milieu of the aristocracy....Jessica Fellowes' deliciously immersive, effortlessly easy novel has a strong feel for period and a rollicking plot...The glamorous Mitfords add to the value too. Metro
A real murder, a real family and a brand new crime fiction heroine are woven together to make a fascinating, and highly enjoyable, read. I loved it. Julian Fellowes, creator and writer of Downton Abbey and Belgravia"Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times. Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders... so will you.
The audio book, read by Rachel Atkins, catches the time and place of the book well. The reading is nicely paced and keeps the narrative moving without rushing the listener. Atkins is good at creating a sense of character without artificiality. The Strand Magazine
"The pleasures of this English murder mystery, set in 1920, are many. Rachel Atkins's crisp performance is just right, moving the pace along without rushing and channeling everyone from nasal aristocrat to working-class copper. AudioFile
“Rachel Atkins’s crisp performance is just right, moving the pace along without rushing and channeling everyone from nasal aristocrat to working-class copper…The Mitfords were real people, whose adult children dominated 1940s British headlines. The novel’s crime, a murder aboard a train, is also historical fact. The fun comes when Louisa and Nancy, the eldest Mitford girl, set out to find the murderer. A concluding interview with author Jessica Fellowes, who wrote the Downton Abbey companion books, promises more in this fun, well-narrated series, each set around a real-life unsolved murder.” AudioFile
“The heroine is appealingly plucky, and the reader sinks into the rich period detail as pleasantly as into an overstuffed sofa.” Kirkus Reviews
“[A] pitch-perfect mystery.” Booklist
“Fans of Agatha Christie or Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs series will savor this take on the locked-room mystery.” Library Journal
“A real murder, a real family, and a brand new crime fiction heroine are woven together to make a fascinating, and highly enjoyable, read. I loved it.” Julian Fellowes, creator and writer of Downton Abbey and Belgravia

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jessica Fellowes

Author Bio: Jessica Fellowes

Jessica Fellowes is an author, journalist, and public speaker, best known for her five official New York Times bestselling companion books to the Downton Abbey TV series. Former deputy director of Country Life and columnist for the Mail on Sunday, she has written for the Daily Telegraph, the Guardian, the Sunday Times, and the Lady.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 11.76
Audience: Adult
Language: English