Beneath the Shadows by Sara Foster audiobook

Beneath the Shadows

By Sara Foster
Read by Lorna Bennett

Blackstone Publishing 9780312643362
9.66 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781094071732

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781094071749

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

In this thrilling gothic suspense debut by Sara Foster in the tradition of Rosamund Lupton and Sophie Hannah, a young mother searches Yorkshire’s windswept moors for the truth behind her husband’s mysterious disappearance. The answers are hiding Beneath the Shadows When Grace’s husband, Adam, inherits an isolated North Yorkshire cottage, they leave the bustle of London behind to try a new life. A week later, Adam vanishes without a trace, leaving their baby daughter, Millie, in her stroller on the doorstep. The following year, Grace returns to the tiny village on the untamed heath. Everyone―the police, her parents, even her best friend and younger sister―is convinced that Adam left her. But Grace, unable to let go of her memories of their love and life together, cannot accept this explanation. She is desperate for answers, but the slumbering, deeply superstitious hamlet is unwilling to give up its secrets. As Grace hunts through forgotten corners of the cottage searching for clues and digs deeper into the lives of the locals, strange dreams begin to haunt her. Are the villagers hiding something, or is she becoming increasingly paranoid? Only as snowfall threatens to cut her and Millie off from the rest of the world does Grace make a terrible discovery. She has been looking in the wrong place for answers all along, and she and her daughter will be in terrible danger if she cannot get them away in time.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

In this thrilling gothic suspense debut by Sara Foster in the tradition of Rosamund Lupton and Sophie Hannah, a young mother searches Yorkshire’s windswept moors for the truth behind her husband’s mysterious disappearance.

The answers are hiding Beneath the Shadows

When Grace’s husband, Adam, inherits an isolated North Yorkshire cottage, they leave the bustle of London behind to try a new life. A week later, Adam vanishes without a trace, leaving their baby daughter, Millie, in her stroller on the doorstep.

The following year, Grace returns to the tiny village on the untamed heath. Everyone―the police, her parents, even her best friend and younger sister―is convinced that Adam left her. But Grace, unable to let go of her memories of their love and life together, cannot accept this explanation. She is desperate for answers, but the slumbering, deeply superstitious hamlet is unwilling to give up its secrets.

As Grace hunts through forgotten corners of the cottage searching for clues and digs deeper into the lives of the locals, strange dreams begin to haunt her. Are the villagers hiding something, or is she becoming increasingly paranoid? Only as snowfall threatens to cut her and Millie off from the rest of the world does Grace make a terrible discovery. She has been looking in the wrong place for answers all along, and she and her daughter will be in terrible danger if she cannot get them away in time.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Foster’s second page-turning tale of suspense set on the snow-covered moors has something for everyone: mystery, romance, paranormal activity, and mortal danger.” Kirkus Reviews
“Keeps you guessing right up until the last atmospheric page and establishes Foster as a new master of the psychological suspense genre.” Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author
“A haunting tale…This vividly written novel will leave you breathless and as chilled as the starkly beautiful North Yorkshire moors where this compelling story unfolds.” Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sara Foster

Author Bio: Sara Foster

Sara Foster was born and raised in England and moved to Australia in 2004. She has published five other novels: Come Back to Me, Beneath the Shadows, Shallow Breath, All That Is Lost between Us, and You Don’t Know Me. She lives near Perth, Western Australia, with her husband and two young daughters, and is a doctoral candidate with Curtin University.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 9.66
Audience: Adult
Language: English