On the Black Hill by Bruce Chatwin audiobook

On the Black Hill: A Novel

By Bruce Chatwin
Read by Simon Mattacks

Brilliance Audio
8.01 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $26.99

    Special Price $17.54

    ISBN: 9781978658394

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

Whitbread Award Winner: A novel by the author of In Patagonia, about a pair of twins and their long, remarkable lives in the farmlands of Wales. For forty-two years, identical twins Lewis and Benjamin Jones have shared a bed, a farm, and a life. But the world has scarred and warped them each in different ways. Lewis is sturdy, still strong enough at eighty to wield an ax all day, and though he's hardly ever ventured outside his little village on the English border, he dreams of far-off lands. Benjamin is gentler, a cook whose favorite task is delivering baby lambs, and even in his old age, he remains devoted to the memory of his mother. The unusual twins have seen a country change and an empire fall, and in their shared memory lies an epic story of the century that remade Britain. From the stories of their father's youth to their own dotage, there is nothing these farmers haven't seen—or heard. Famed travel author Bruce Chatwin brings his unique understanding of landscape and culture to his debut novel, an intense examination of a little patch of Wales. Winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the Whitbread Literary Award, and written in the tradition of Wuthering Heights and The Mayor of Casterbridge, this entry on the list of "1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die" is an all-time classic from the author of bestsellers such as In Patagonia and The Songlines.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Whitbread Award Winner: A novel by the author of In Patagonia, about a pair of twins and their long, remarkable lives in the farmlands of Wales.

For forty-two years, identical twins Lewis and Benjamin Jones have shared a bed, a farm, and a life. But the world has scarred and warped them each in different ways. Lewis is sturdy, still strong enough at eighty to wield an ax all day, and though he's hardly ever ventured outside his little village on the English border, he dreams of far-off lands. Benjamin is gentler, a cook whose favorite task is delivering baby lambs, and even in his old age, he remains devoted to the memory of his mother.

The unusual twins have seen a country change and an empire fall, and in their shared memory lies an epic story of the century that remade Britain. From the stories of their father's youth to their own dotage, there is nothing these farmers haven't seen—or heard.

Famed travel author Bruce Chatwin brings his unique understanding of landscape and culture to his debut novel, an intense examination of a little patch of Wales. Winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the Whitbread Literary Award, and written in the tradition of Wuthering Heights and The Mayor of Casterbridge, this entry on the list of "1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die" is an all-time classic from the author of bestsellers such as In Patagonia and The Songlines.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Bruce Chatwin

Author Bio: Bruce Chatwin

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 8.01
Audience: Adult
Language: English