The Water Witch by Carol Goodman audiobook

The Water Witch: A Novel

By Juliet Dark
Read by Justine Eyre

Blackstone Publishing 9780345524249

The Fairwick Chronicles: Book 2

9.72 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $14.98

    ISBN: 9781482926774

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $14.98

    ISBN: 9781482926767

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Elizabeth Kostova, The Water Witch is a breathtakingly sexy and atmospheric novel of ancient folklore, passionate love, and thrilling magic. After casting out a dark spirit, Callie McFay, a professor of Gothic literature, has at last restored a semblance of calm to her rambling Victorian house. But in the nearby thicket of the honeysuckle forest, and in the currents of the rushing Undine stream, more trouble is stirring. The enchanted town of Fairwick's dazzling mix of mythical creatures has come under siege from the Grove: a sinister group of witches determined to banish the fey back to their ancestral land. With factions turning on one another, all are cruelly forced to take sides. Callie's grandmother, a prominent Grove member, demands her granddaughter's compliance, but half-witch/half-fey Callie can hardly betray her friends and colleagues at the college. To stave off disaster, Callie enlists Duncan Laird, a seductive academic who cultivates her vast magical potential, but to what end? Deeply conflicted, Callie struggles to save her beloved Fairwick, dangerously pushing her extraordinary powers to the limit—risking all, even the needs of her own passionate heart.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Elizabeth Kostova, The Water Witch is a breathtakingly sexy and atmospheric novel of ancient folklore, passionate love, and thrilling magic.

After casting out a dark spirit, Callie McFay, a professor of Gothic literature, has at last restored a semblance of calm to her rambling Victorian house. But in the nearby thicket of the honeysuckle forest, and in the currents of the rushing Undine stream, more trouble is stirring.

The enchanted town of Fairwick's dazzling mix of mythical creatures has come under siege from the Grove: a sinister group of witches determined to banish the fey back to their ancestral land. With factions turning on one another, all are cruelly forced to take sides. Callie's grandmother, a prominent Grove member, demands her granddaughter's compliance, but half-witch/half-fey Callie can hardly betray her friends and colleagues at the college. To stave off disaster, Callie enlists Duncan Laird, a seductive academic who cultivates her vast magical potential, but to what end? Deeply conflicted, Callie struggles to save her beloved Fairwick, dangerously pushing her extraordinary powers to the limit—risking all, even the needs of her own passionate heart.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A lighthearted, fast moving fantasy…The Water Witch should appeal to readers of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse novels.” New York Journal of Books
“An intriguing story that will keep readers guessing.” Romance Reviews Today
“Dark has an exquisite and clear voice…One is aware of being in the hands of a mistress of the fine arts of storytelling and characterization…It’s all just great fun.” Albany Chronogram
“Full of intricate twists and turns, Dark’s contemporary erotic gothic is a satisfying read.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Carol Goodman

Author Bio: Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman (a.k.a. Juliet Dark) is a critically acclaimed literary suspense writer. Her novels have won the Hammett Prize and the Mary Higgins Clark Award and have been nominated for the Dublin/IMPAC Award and the Nero Wolfe Award. After graduating from Vassar College, where she majored in Latin, she taught Latin for several years in Austin, Texas. She then received an MFA degree in fiction from the New School University, where she teaches writing.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 9.72
Audience: Adult
Language: English