Saving Winslow by Sharon Creech audiobook

Saving Winslow

By Sharon Creech
Read by Kirby Heyborne

HarperCollins 9780062570703
2.14 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.99

    Special Price $10.00

    ISBN: 9781982554408

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    ISBN: 9781982554415

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Indie Next List Pick · ALA Notable Children’s Book · Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner “A winning tale of love.” Kirkus (starred review) Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army. Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined. Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings. “This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.” School Library Journal (starred review) “Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie’s hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow’s strength.” Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming—the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable.” —Horn Book (starred review)

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Indie Next List Pick · ALA Notable Children’s Book · Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

“A winning tale of love.” Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie’s quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

“This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.” School Library Journal (starred review)

“Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie’s hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow’s strength.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming—the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable.” Horn Book (starred review)

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Kirby Heyborne narrates the short, poignant chapters of this audiobook, imbuing them with the inflections and emotions they deserve…Heyborne brings particular strength to the dialogue—the father’s pessimism starkly contrasts with Louie’s cheer. This a story with additional heartrending layers, such as Louie’s longing for and worry about his larger-than-life brother, who is in the military. Heyborne honors all the elements in this story, making it a hugely successful family listen. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie.School Library Journal (starred review)
"[A] winning tale of love and the risks it brings. In brief chapters and with few words she crafts dynamic characters and an engaging narrative with a subtle yet illuminating message on the dampening effects of negativity…[An] outstanding and unforgettable story.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose…Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie’s hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow’s strength.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Particularly skillful and satisfying… An ideal choice for reading aloud or alone.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sharon Creech

Author Bio: Sharon Creech

Sharon Creech has written more than twenty books for young people and is published in over twenty languages. Her books have received awards in both the United States and abroad, including the Newbery Medal for Walk Two Moons, the Newbery Honor for The Wanderer, and Great Britain’s Carnegie Medal for Ruby Holler. Before beginning her writing career, she taught English for fifteen years in England and Switzerland.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 2.14
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English