Daughters of Smoke and Fire by Ava Homa audiobook

Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel

By  Ava Homa
Read by Vaneh Assadourian

Blackstone Publishing 9781419743092
11.09 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781094149417

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781094149424

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

The unforgettable, haunting story of a young woman’s perilous fight for freedom and justice for her brother—the first novel published in English by a female Kurdish writer Set in Iran, this extraordinary debut novel takes listeners into the everyday lives of the Kurds. Leila dreams of making films to bring the suppressed stories of her people onto the global stage, but obstacles keep piling up. Leila’s younger brother Chia, influenced by their father’s past torture, imprisonment, and his deep-seated desire for justice, begins to engage with social and political affairs. But his activism grows increasingly risky and one day he disappears in Tehran. Seeking answers about her brother’s whereabouts, Leila fears the worst and begins a campaign to save him. But when she publishes Chia’s writings online, she finds herself in grave danger as well. Daughters of Smoke and Fire is an evocative portrait of the lives and stakes faced by 40 million stateless Kurds and a powerful story that brilliantly illuminates the meaning of identity and the complex bonds of family, perfect for fans of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A BookReporter Pick of Books Mom Will Love

A BookRiot Pick of the Month's New Releases

The unforgettable, haunting story of a young woman’s perilous fight for freedom and justice for her brother—the first novel published in English by a female Kurdish writer

Set in Iran, this extraordinary debut novel takes listeners into the everyday lives of the Kurds. Leila dreams of making films to bring the suppressed stories of her people onto the global stage, but obstacles keep piling up. Leila’s younger brother Chia, influenced by their father’s past torture, imprisonment, and his deep-seated desire for justice, begins to engage with social and political affairs. But his activism grows increasingly risky and one day he disappears in Tehran. Seeking answers about her brother’s whereabouts, Leila fears the worst and begins a campaign to save him. But when she publishes Chia’s writings online, she finds herself in grave danger as well.

Daughters of Smoke and Fire is an evocative portrait of the lives and stakes faced by 40 million stateless Kurds and a powerful story that brilliantly illuminates the meaning of identity and the complex bonds of family, perfect for fans of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Vaneh Assadourian expertly narrates the first Kurdish novel in English by a female writer. She brings a light, airy voice to the character of Leila…Assadourian is precise and smooth in her pronunciation of the names of Kurdish places and people. Her capable delivery creates a seamless listening experience.” AudioFile
“A blisteringly powerful tale of standing up to oppression and terror…[a] haunting novel.” The Independent (London)
“Homa opened my eyes to the subtleties and challenges of the Kurdish minority in Iran and made the last fifty or so years of Iranian history feel very current. If, like me, your path to getting back on the listening train starts with fiction, this could be the one for you.” Audible.com
“[Homa’s] portrait of Kurdish life in Iran brings readers closer to lived experiences that force questions of identity, homeland, and the traumas we inherit.” Booklist
“Shows us, through one family’s story, the stakes faced by the Kurds. Read this book. Raise your voice. We can no longer afford the ‘us and them’ mentality if we are to survive.” Joy Kogawa, author of Obasan
“When the Kurds are so much in the news in Iraq and Syria, the Iranian government has erected a wall of silence around its own much larger Kurdish population. This magnificent novel penetrates that wall with its story of coming of age, oppression, and death.” Peter W. Galbraith, ambassador and author of The End of Iraq
“A haunting piece of political fiction and a gut-punch tale of an alienated Kurdish girl swimming upstream against a tide of sexism and ethnic hatred.” Kevin McKiernan, author and award-winning documentary filmmaker

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ava Homa

Author Bio: Ava Homa

Ava Homa is a writer, journalist, and activist specializing in women’s issues and Middle Eastern affairs. She holds an MA in English and creative writing from the University of Windsor in Canada. Her collection of short stories, Echoes from the Other Land, was longlisted for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award, and she is the inaugural recipient of the PEN Canada–Humber College Writers-in-Exile Scholarship. She was born and raised in the Kurdistan Province in Iran and now divides her time between Toronto and the Bay Area.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 11.09
Audience: Adult
Language: English