Machine by Elizabeth Bear audiobook

Machine

By Elizabeth Bear
Read by  Adjoa Andoh

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781534403017

The White Space Series: Book 2

16.53 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $55.99

    Special Price $36.39

    ISBN: 9781797113661

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry. Meet Doctor Jens. She hasn’t had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she’s never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee. But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away. Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can’t resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she’s about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths. Written in Elizabeth Bear’s signature “rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental” (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won’t be able to put down.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

An Amazon Best Books of the Year pick

In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry.

Meet Doctor Jens.

She hasn’t had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she’s never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee.

But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away.

Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can’t resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she’s about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths.

Written in Elizabeth Bear’s signature “rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental” (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won’t be able to put down.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Adjoa Andoh is a true storyteller. She has a natural, engaging manner as Dr. Jens…[and] depicts Dr. Jen as a person who creates a fast rapport with her patients and colleagues…This second installment in Bear’s White Space series is not a direct sequel and easily stands on its own, although a couple of characters reappear in minor roles.” AudioFile
“Spectacularly smart space opera… Bear proves her mastery of the space opera genre yet again.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elizabeth Bear

Author Bio: Elizabeth Bear

Elizabeth Bear, also known as Sarah Bear Elizabeth Wishnevsky, is an American author known for her speculative fiction. Among her many awards, she is one of only five writers who have gone on to win multiple Hugo Awards for fiction after winning the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. She also won a Sturgeon Award and the Locus Award for Best First Novel. She is the author of the acclaimed Eternal Sky series. Elizabeth Bear shares a birthday with Frodo and Bilbo Baggins.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 16.53
Audience: Adult
Language: English