Set Fire to the Gods by Sara Raasch audiobook

Set Fire to the Gods

By Sara Raasch  and Kristen Simmons
Read by Andrew Eiden  and Stacey Glemboski

Balzer + Bray, HarperCollins 9780062891563
12.70 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    ISBN: 9781094169613

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    ISBN: 9781094169620

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Avatar: The Last Airbender meets Gladiator in the first book in this epic fantasy duology in which two warriors must decide where their loyalties lie as an ancient war between immortals threatens humanity—from Sara Raasch, the New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series, and Kristen Simmons, acclaimed author of Pacifica and The Deceivers. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes, And I Darken, and The Winner’s Curse. Ash is descended from a long line of gladiators, and she knows the brutal nature of war firsthand. But after her mother dies in an arena, she vows to avenge her by overthrowing her fire god, whose temper has stripped her country of its resources. Madoc grew up fighting on the streets to pay his family’s taxes. But he hides a dangerous secret: he doesn’t have the earth god’s powers like his opponents. His elemental gift is something else—something that hasn’t been seen in centuries. When an attempted revenge plot goes dangerously wrong, Ash inadvertently throws the fire and earth gods into a conflict that can only be settled by deadly, lavish gladiator games, throwing Madoc in Ash’s path. She realizes that his powers are the weapon her rebellion needs—but Madoc won’t jeopardize his family, regardless of how intrigued he is by the beautiful warrior. But when the gods force Madoc’s hand, he and Ash uncover an ancient war that will threaten more than one immortal—it will unravel the world.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Avatar: The Last Airbender meets Gladiator in the first book in this epic fantasy duology in which two warriors must decide where their loyalties lie as an ancient war between immortals threatens humanity—from Sara Raasch, the New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series, and Kristen Simmons, acclaimed author of Pacifica and The Deceivers. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes, And I Darken, and The Winner’s Curse.

Ash is descended from a long line of gladiators, and she knows the brutal nature of war firsthand. But after her mother dies in an arena, she vows to avenge her by overthrowing her fire god, whose temper has stripped her country of its resources.

Madoc grew up fighting on the streets to pay his family’s taxes. But he hides a dangerous secret: he doesn’t have the earth god’s powers like his opponents. His elemental gift is something else—something that hasn’t been seen in centuries.

When an attempted revenge plot goes dangerously wrong, Ash inadvertently throws the fire and earth gods into a conflict that can only be settled by deadly, lavish gladiator games, throwing Madoc in Ash’s path. She realizes that his powers are the weapon her rebellion needs—but Madoc won’t jeopardize his family, regardless of how intrigued he is by the beautiful warrior.

But when the gods force Madoc’s hand, he and Ash uncover an ancient war that will threaten more than one immortal—it will unravel the world.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Colorful, gritty, and roiling with emotion…A gladiatorial slugfest and political thriller.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sara Raasch

Author Bio: Sara Raasch

Sara Raasch is the author of three series of young-adult fantasy novels: the Snow Like Ashes, the Stream Raiders, and, with co-author Katharine Simmons, the Set Fire to the Gods duology.

Titles by Author

See All

Author Bio: Kristen Simmons

Author Bio: Kristen Simmons

Kristen Simmons is the critically acclaimed author of four stand-alone novels and the Article 5 series, the Vale Hall series, and, with co-author Sara Raasch, the Set Fire to the Gods series. Visit her online at www.kristensimmonsbooks.com.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 12.70
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English