The Eyes of the Queen by Oliver Clements audiobook

The Eyes of the Queen: A Novel

By Oliver Clements
Read by Matthew Lloyd Davies

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781501154690

The Agents of the Crown Series: Book 1

8.52 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    ISBN: 9781797115559

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

In this first novel of the exhilarating Agents of the Crown series, a man who will become the original MI6 agent protects England and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth I from Spain’s nefarious plan to crush the Age of the Enlightenment. After centuries locked in an endless cycle of poverty, persecution, and barbarity, Europe has finally emerged into the Age of Enlightenment. Scientists, philosophers, scholars, and poets alike believe this to be a new era of reason and hope for all. But the forces of darkness haven’t completely dissipated, as Spain hunts and butchers any who dare to defy its ironclad Catholic orthodoxy. Only one nation can fight the black shadow that threatens this new age, and that is Britain, now ruled by a brilliant young Queen Elizabeth I. But although she may be brave and headstrong, Elizabeth knows she cannot win this war simply by force of arms. After her armies have been slashed in half, her treasury is on its knees. Elizabeth needs a new kind of weapon forged to fight a new kind of war, in which stealth and secrecy, not bloodshed, are the means. In this tense situation, Her Majesty’s Secret Service is born with the charismatic John Dee at its head. A scholar, a soldier, and an alchemist, Dee is loyal only to the truth and to his Queen. And for her, the woman he’s forbidden from loving, he is prepared to risk his life. A visceral and heart-pumping historical thriller, The Eyes of the Queen is perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

In this first novel of the exhilarating Agents of the Crown series, a man who will become the original MI6 agent protects England and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth I from Spain’s nefarious plan to crush the Age of the Enlightenment.

After centuries locked in an endless cycle of poverty, persecution, and barbarity, Europe has finally emerged into the Age of Enlightenment. Scientists, philosophers, scholars, and poets alike believe this to be a new era of reason and hope for all. But the forces of darkness haven’t completely dissipated, as Spain hunts and butchers any who dare to defy its ironclad Catholic orthodoxy.

Only one nation can fight the black shadow that threatens this new age, and that is Britain, now ruled by a brilliant young Queen Elizabeth I. But although she may be brave and headstrong, Elizabeth knows she cannot win this war simply by force of arms. After her armies have been slashed in half, her treasury is on its knees. Elizabeth needs a new kind of weapon forged to fight a new kind of war, in which stealth and secrecy, not bloodshed, are the means.

In this tense situation, Her Majesty’s Secret Service is born with the charismatic John Dee at its head. A scholar, a soldier, and an alchemist, Dee is loyal only to the truth and to his Queen. And for her, the woman he’s forbidden from loving, he is prepared to risk his life.

A visceral and heart-pumping historical thriller, The Eyes of the Queen is perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“In The Eyes of the Queen, Oliver Clements conjures a remarkable hero: John Dee, an Elizabethan James Bond who dives headlong into a mystery sinister enough to make Le Carré green with envy.” Keith Thomas, author of Dahlia Black
“[A] twisty, fast-paced debut and series launch.” Publishers Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Oliver Clements

Author Bio: Oliver Clements

Oliver Clements is a novelist and screenwriter based in London.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 8.52
Audience: Adult
Language: English