The Last Story of Mina Lee by Nancy Jooyoun Kim audiobook

The Last Story of Mina Lee

By Nancy Jooyoun Kim
Read by Greta Jung

Park Row Books, Harlequin Audio 9780778310174
10.72 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781799918998

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781799919001

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

An electrifying debut novel for fans of Celeste Ng and Jean Kwok, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a poignant mother-daughter story and surprising mystery that illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America. Margot Lee’s mother, Mina, isn’t returning her calls. It’s a mystery to twenty-six-year-old Margot, until she visits her childhood apartment in Koreatown and finds that her mother has died under suspicious circumstances. The discovery sends Margot digging through the past, unraveling the tenuous invisible strings that held together her single mother’s life as a Korean War orphan and an undocumented immigrant, only to realize how little she truly knew about her mother. Interwoven with Margot’s present-day search is Mina’s story of her first years in Los Angeles as she navigates the promises and perils of the American myth of reinvention. Barely earning a living by stocking shelves at a Korean grocery store, the last thing Mina ever expects is to fall in love. But that love story sets in motion a string of events that have consequences for years to come, leading up to the truth of what happened the night of her death. Told through the intimate lens of a mother and daughter who have struggled all their lives to understand each other, The Last Story of Mina Lee is both a gripping page-turner and a profound family saga that explores identity, secrets, and what it truly means to belong.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

An electrifying debut novel for fans of Celeste Ng and Jean Kwok, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a poignant mother-daughter story and surprising mystery that illustrates the devastating realities of being an immigrant in America.

Margot Lee’s mother, Mina, isn’t returning her calls. It’s a mystery to twenty-six-year-old Margot, until she visits her childhood apartment in Koreatown and finds that her mother has died under suspicious circumstances. The discovery sends Margot digging through the past, unraveling the tenuous invisible strings that held together her single mother’s life as a Korean War orphan and an undocumented immigrant, only to realize how little she truly knew about her mother.

Interwoven with Margot’s present-day search is Mina’s story of her first years in Los Angeles as she navigates the promises and perils of the American myth of reinvention. Barely earning a living by stocking shelves at a Korean grocery store, the last thing Mina ever expects is to fall in love. But that love story sets in motion a string of events that have consequences for years to come, leading up to the truth of what happened the night of her death.

Told through the intimate lens of a mother and daughter who have struggled all their lives to understand each other, The Last Story of Mina Lee is both a gripping page-turner and a profound family saga that explores identity, secrets, and what it truly means to belong.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Suspenseful and deeply felt.” Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author
“A fierce, gripping call to love and memory…It’s a riveting dance between mother and daughter, moving fluidly back and forth through time, documenting the quiet traumas that can divide generations. Tremendously readable, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a real page-turner.” Kristen Arnett, New York Times bestselling author
“Haunting and heartbreaking, troubled threads between a mother and daughter blend together in a delicate and rich weave…With both sadness and beauty, [Kim] describes grief, regret, loss, and the feeling of being left behind. Fans of Amy Tan and Kristin Hannah will love Kim’s brilliant debut.” Booklist (starred review)
“Nancy Jooyoun Kim writes with brilliant exactitude about the anxious topographies of being a mother and a daughter, and the choices that lead to migration. The Last Story of Mina Lee is a confident and gripping account of where families bury secrets and what happens when you dig.” Ingrid Rojas Contreras, author of The Fruit of the Drunken Tree

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nancy Jooyoun Kim

Author Bio: Nancy Jooyoun Kim

Born and raised in Los Angeles, Nancy Jooyoun Kim is a graduate of UCLA and the University of Washington, Seattle. Her essays and short fiction have appeared in the Los Angeles Review of Books, Guernica, NPR/PRI’s Selected Shorts, the Rumpus, Electric Literature, Asian American Writers’ Workshop’s the Margins, the Offing, and elsewhere. The Last Story of Mina Lee is her first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Women
Runtime: 10.72
Audience: Adult
Language: English