More Miracle than Bird by Alice Miller audiobook

More Miracle than Bird

By Alice Miller
Read by Polly Lee  and Liz Pearce

Recorded Books, Inc. 9781947793767
9.39 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $42.99

    Special Price $21.50

    ISBN: 9781664492677

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

For fans of Paula McLains The Paris Wife and Amor Towless Rules of Civility, Alice Miller's sweeping debut novel charts the love story of two of literatures most fascinating characters: Georgie Hyde-Lees and her husband, W. B. Yeats. On the eve of World War I, twenty-one-year-old Georgie Hyde-Leeson her own for the first timeis introduced to the acclaimed poet W. B. Yeats at a soirée in London. Although Yeats is famously eccentric and many years her senior, Georgie is drawn to him, and when he extends a cryptic invitation to a secret society, her life is forever changed. A shadow falls over London as zeppelins stalk overhead and bombs bloom against the skyline. Amidst the chaos, Georgie finds purpose tending to injured soldiers in a makeshift hospital, befriending the wounded and heartbroken Lieutenant Pike, who might need more from her than she is able to give. At night with Yeats, she escapes these realities into an even darker world, becoming immersed in The Order, a clandestine society where ritual, magic, and the conjuring of spirits is practiced and pursued. As forcesboth of this world and the nextpull Yeats and Georgie closer together and then apart again, Georgie uncovers a secret that threatens to undo it all. In bright, commanding prose debut author Alice Miller illuminates the fascinating and unforgettable courtship of Georgie Hyde-Lees and W. B. Yeats. A sweeping tale of faith and love, lost and found and fought for, More Miracle than Bird ingeniously captures the momentsboth large and smallon which the fate of whole lives and countries hinge.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

For fans of Paula McLains The Paris Wife and Amor Towless Rules of Civility, Alice Miller's sweeping debut novel charts the love story of two of literatures most fascinating characters: Georgie Hyde-Lees and her husband, W. B. Yeats. On the eve of World War I, twenty-one-year-old Georgie Hyde-Leeson her own for the first timeis introduced to the acclaimed poet W. B. Yeats at a soirée in London. Although Yeats is famously eccentric and many years her senior, Georgie is drawn to him, and when he extends a cryptic invitation to a secret society, her life is forever changed. A shadow falls over London as zeppelins stalk overhead and bombs bloom against the skyline. Amidst the chaos, Georgie finds purpose tending to injured soldiers in a makeshift hospital, befriending the wounded and heartbroken Lieutenant Pike, who might need more from her than she is able to give. At night with Yeats, she escapes these realities into an even darker world, becoming immersed in The Order, a clandestine society where ritual, magic, and the conjuring of spirits is practiced and pursued. As forcesboth of this world and the nextpull Yeats and Georgie closer together and then apart again, Georgie uncovers a secret that threatens to undo it all. In bright, commanding prose debut author Alice Miller illuminates the fascinating and unforgettable courtship of Georgie Hyde-Lees and W. B. Yeats. A sweeping tale of faith and love, lost and found and fought for, More Miracle than Bird ingeniously captures the momentsboth large and smallon which the fate of whole lives and countries hinge.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Alice Miller

Author Bio: Alice Miller

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 9.39
Audience: Adult
Language: English