It Only Happens in the Movies by Holly Bourne audiobook

It Only Happens in the Movies

By Holly Bourne

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, HMH Audio 9780358172062
1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    Available on 12/01/2020

    ISBN: 9780358437208

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $20.00

    Available on 12/01/2020

    ISBN: 9781664783461

From award-winning British author Holly Bourne comes a clever, deconstructed rom-com that proves that in real life “girl meets boy” doesn't always mean “happily ever after” . . . or does it? At turns funny, feminist, and achingly real, this read is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Patrick Ness, and Julie Buxbaum. Audrey is over romance. While dealing with her parents’ contentious divorce, a breakup of her own, and shifting friendship dynamics, she has every reason to feel cynical. But then she meets Harry, her fellow coworker at the local cinema. He’s brash, impulsive, and a major flirt. And even though Audrey tries to resist, she finds herself falling for his charms. But in this funny, insightful, and ultimately empowering novel, love—and life—isn’t what it’s like in the movies.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

From award-winning British author Holly Bourne comes a clever, deconstructed rom-com that proves that in real life “girl meets boy” doesn't always mean “happily ever after” . . . or does it? At turns funny, feminist, and achingly real, this read is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Patrick Ness, and Julie Buxbaum.

Audrey is over romance. While dealing with her parents’ contentious divorce, a breakup of her own, and shifting friendship dynamics, she has every reason to feel cynical. But then she meets Harry, her fellow coworker at the local cinema. He’s brash, impulsive, and a major flirt. And even though Audrey tries to resist, she finds herself falling for his charms. But in this funny, insightful, and ultimately empowering novel, love—and life—isn’t what it’s like in the movies.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Audrey and Harry’s relationship sings with witty banter, electric heat, and feverish emotion, but Audrey’s journey to self-discovery reaps even more rewards, leaving readers with a fresh, realistic look at first love…A wild ride that’s high on drama and deep in self-reflection.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Holly Bourne

Author Bio: Holly Bourne

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English