In the Shadow of the Moon by Amy Cherrix audiobook

In the Shadow of the Moon: America, Russia, and the Hidden History of the Space Race

By Amy Cherrix
Read by Josh Horowitz

Balzer + Bray, HarperCollins 9780062888754
6.71 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $19.49

    Available on 02/09/2021

    ISBN: 9781799948872

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    Available on 02/09/2021

    ISBN: 9781799948889

An exhilarating dive into the secret history of humankind’s race to the moon, from acclaimed author Amy Cherrix. This fascinating and immersive read is perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin’s Bomb and M. T. Anderson’s Symphony for the City of the Dead. You’ve heard of the space race, but do you know the whole story? The most ambitious race humankind has ever undertaken was masterminded in the shadows by two engineers on opposite sides of the Cold War—Wernher von Braun, a former Nazi officer living in the US, and Sergei Korolev, a Russian rocket designer once jailed for crimes against his country—and your textbooks probably never told you. Von Braun became an American hero, recognized the world over, while Korolev toiled in obscurity. These two brilliant rocketeers never met, but together they shaped the science of spaceflight and redefined modern warfare. From Stalin’s brutal Gulag prisons and Hitler’s concentration camps to Cape Canaveral and beyond, their simultaneous quests pushed science—and human ingenuity—to the breaking point. From Amy Cherrix comes the extraordinary hidden story of the space race and the bitter rivalry that launched humankind to the moon. Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

An exhilarating dive into the secret history of humankind’s race to the moon, from acclaimed author Amy Cherrix. This fascinating and immersive read is perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin’s Bomb and M. T. Anderson’s Symphony for the City of the Dead.

You’ve heard of the space race, but do you know the whole story?

The most ambitious race humankind has ever undertaken was masterminded in the shadows by two engineers on opposite sides of the Cold War—Wernher von Braun, a former Nazi officer living in the US, and Sergei Korolev, a Russian rocket designer once jailed for crimes against his country—and your textbooks probably never told you.

Von Braun became an American hero, recognized the world over, while Korolev toiled in obscurity. These two brilliant rocketeers never met, but together they shaped the science of spaceflight and redefined modern warfare. From Stalin’s brutal Gulag prisons and Hitler’s concentration camps to Cape Canaveral and beyond, their simultaneous quests pushed science—and human ingenuity—to the breaking point.

From Amy Cherrix comes the extraordinary hidden story of the space race and the bitter rivalry that launched humankind to the moon.

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A well-researched, detailed account of two leading engineers in the space race that raises questions about the human costs of war and propaganda… Engrossing and painfully relevant.” Kirkus Reviews
“YA history readers frustrated by an information gap between the race for the bomb and the race to the moon will find this the essential—and thrilling—infill they’ve missed.” Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“An explosive exposé on the scandals and lies behind the race to the moon! I learned so much I didn’t know.” Alan Gratz, author of Grenade
“An engaging, fast-paced narrative that will delight readers of history and space technology. A worthy addition to all libraries serving teens.” School Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Amy Cherrix

Author Bio: Amy Cherrix

Amy Cherrix is the author of several books, including the middle grade nonfiction books Backyard Bears: Conservation, Habitat Changes, and the Rise of Urban Wildlife and of Eye of the Storm: NASA, Drones, and the Race to Crack the Hurricane Code, which was a finalist for the Subaru Prize for Excellence in middle grade science books. She is the children’s book buyer at Malaprop’s Bookstore in Asheville, North Carolina. You can find her online at www.amycherrix.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction
Runtime: 6.71
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English