Some Other Now by Sarah Everett audiobook

Some Other Now

By Sarah Everett

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, HMH Audio 9780358251866
11.14 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    Available on 02/23/2021

    ISBN: 9780358437215

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    Available on 02/23/2021

    ISBN: 9781664783768

This Is Us for teens, this luminous and heartbreaking contemporary novel follows a girl caught between two brothers as the three of them navigate family, loss, and love over the course of two summers. For fans of Far From the Tree, Emergency Contact, and Nina LaCour. Before she kissed one of the Cohen boys, seventeen-year-old Jessi Rumfield knew what it was like to have a family—even if, technically, that family didn’t belong to her. She’d spent her childhood in the house next door, challenging Rowan Cohen to tennis matches while his older brother, Luke, studied in the background and Mel watched over the three like the mother Jessi always wished she had. But then everything changed. It’s been almost a year since Jessi last visited the Cohen house. Rowan is gone. Mel is in remission and Luke hates Jessi for the role she played in breaking his family apart. Now Jessi spends her days at a dead-end summer job avoiding her real mother, who suddenly wants to play a role in Jessi's life after being absent for so long. But when Luke comes home from college, it's hard to ignore the past. And when he asks Jessi to pretend to be his girlfriend for the final months of Mel’s life, Jessi finds herself drawn back into the world of the Cohens. Everything’s changed, but Jessi can’t help wanting to be a Cohen, even if it means playing pretend for one final summer.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

This Is Us for teens, this luminous and heartbreaking contemporary novel follows a girl caught between two brothers as the three of them navigate family, loss, and love over the course of two summers. For fans of Far From the Tree, Emergency Contact, and Nina LaCour.

Before she kissed one of the Cohen boys, seventeen-year-old Jessi Rumfield knew what it was like to have a family—even if, technically, that family didn’t belong to her. She’d spent her childhood in the house next door, challenging Rowan Cohen to tennis matches while his older brother, Luke, studied in the background and Mel watched over the three like the mother Jessi always wished she had.

But then everything changed. It’s been almost a year since Jessi last visited the Cohen house. Rowan is gone. Mel is in remission and Luke hates Jessi for the role she played in breaking his family apart. Now Jessi spends her days at a dead-end summer job avoiding her real mother, who suddenly wants to play a role in Jessi's life after being absent for so long. But when Luke comes home from college, it's hard to ignore the past. And when he asks Jessi to pretend to be his girlfriend for the final months of Mel’s life, Jessi finds herself drawn back into the world of the Cohens. Everything’s changed, but Jessi can’t help wanting to be a Cohen, even if it means playing pretend for one final summer.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Everett is a master at dropping clues in these alternating time lines that cause readers to predict and question…Everett enmeshes Jessi and Luke in the myopia of teenage self-blame, survivor’s guilt, and a love triangle…[with] page-turning romance and existential angst.” School Library Journal
“Some Other Now explores intense loss, unimaginable guilt, and love’s many forms through characters who are undeniably flawed, yet wonderfully endearing.” Katy Upperman, author of How the Light Gets In
“Stunning and romantic—the rare book that will break your heart and put it back together.” Kara Thomas, author of The Cheerleaders

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sarah Everett

Author Bio: Sarah Everett

Sarah Everett is the author of No One Here is Lonely and Everyone We’ve Been Every. She remembers growing up in enchanted forests, on desert islands, and inside a magical wardrobe. She would only ever erase her memory of past karaoke performances and certain fashion choices. She lives in Alberta, Canada.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 11.14
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English