Butcher Pen Road by Kris Lackey audiobook

Butcher Pen Road: A Novel

By Kris Lackey
Read by Mark Bramhall

Blackstone Publishing 9781982689278

The Bill Maytubby and Hannah Bond Mysteries: Book 3

6.24 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781982689124

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781982689131

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $25.99

    Special Price $16.89

    ISBN: 9781982689278

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

On Oklahoma’s Big Rock Prairie, a deaf boy finds a body in Pennington Creek. Johnston County Deputy Hannah Bond and Chickasaw Lighthorse Police Sergeant Bill Maytubby find a crime scene where nothing seems to fit—from the dead angler’s oversize waders to the kind of fish in his creel. They scour the creekside brush, then hit the road for Texas in a widening search for the killer. On the Big Rock, a towering bearded man is building a limestone replica of Roman Jerusalem for a Christian passion play. His cronies, who are in league with an interstate fraud ring, want the boy to disappear now. Flying an ancient rented Cessna, Maytubby takes fire from a suspect he is tailing, while Bond combs river trails for traces of the killer. While Maytubby and Bond try to protect the deaf boy and his mother from the crime ring, an improbable ally materializes from the prairie oak thickets, wielding a monstrous shotgun.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

On Oklahoma’s Big Rock Prairie, a deaf boy finds a body in Pennington Creek. Johnston County Deputy Hannah Bond and Chickasaw Lighthorse Police Sergeant Bill Maytubby find a crime scene where nothing seems to fit—from the dead angler’s oversize waders to the kind of fish in his creel. They scour the creekside brush, then hit the road for Texas in a widening search for the killer.

On the Big Rock, a towering bearded man is building a limestone replica of Roman Jerusalem for a Christian passion play. His cronies, who are in league with an interstate fraud ring, want the boy to disappear now.

Flying an ancient rented Cessna, Maytubby takes fire from a suspect he is tailing, while Bond combs river trails for traces of the killer.

While Maytubby and Bond try to protect the deaf boy and his mother from the crime ring, an improbable ally materializes from the prairie oak thickets, wielding a monstrous shotgun.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Kris Lackey’s strong points are his characterizations. Each unique bad guy isn’t always all bad, the good guys make mistakes, and Bill and Hannah are wholesome heroes who will walk through fire to protect their people. Excellent reading.” Roundup Magazine
“An original, entertaining, deftly crafted Bill Maytubby and Hannah Bond mystery by Kris Lackey, Butcher Pen Road is a riveting read from beginning to end. Laced with cliff-hanger plot twists and unexpected turns, Butcher Pen Road is especially and unreservedly recommended.” Midwest Book Review
“A quick-read police procedural that is aided by knowledge and context of the setting while highlighting the challenges of law enforcement in rural Oklahoma. For fans of Kent Anderson, Danny Gardner, and Lisa Sandlin.” Library Journal
“An impeccably written tale laced with humor and featuring unorthodox, believable detectives.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“There are a few crime writers who can expertly evoke a sense of place and of genuine people; who can transfer their authentic voices to the printed page. Kris Lackey is one of those authors…Lackey has created characters every bit as witty and engaging as Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers…This is a crime series which wears its humanity firmly on its sleeve. There may be moments of brutalizing violence and lethal force, but these are easily offset by the likeable characters and their affable good humor. There’s none of the bleak nihilism which so frequently permeates crime fiction set in backwoods America. The result is ultimately uplifting and affirming, and I can’t wait for the next one.” Murder, Mayhem & More
“Lackey has penned another fast-paced mystery with the unlikely but highly capable law-enforcement duo of Chickasaw Lighthorseman Bill Maytubby and Deputy Hannah Bond. The author’s brilliant descriptions bring details alive, picking up the reader and depositing them squarely in the middle of Oklahoma Indian Country. Go along for an adventurous and dangerous ride. You’ll be glad you did. You won’t want to put this book down until you’ve turned the last page, and then you’ll want more.” Sara Sue Hoklotubbe, author of the award-winning Sadie Walela mystery series

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Kris Lackey

Author Bio: Kris Lackey

Kris Lackey is the author of two previous Bill Maytubby and Hannah Bond mysteries, the USA Today bestseller Nail’s Crossing and its sequel, Greasy Bend. He lives in Norman, Oklahoma.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD, Hardcover
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 6.24
Audience: Adult
Language: English