The Afrominimalist’s Guide to Living with Less by Christine Platt audiobook

The Afrominimalist’s Guide to Living with Less

By Christine Platt
Read by Christine Platt

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781982168049
5.60 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $19.49

    ISBN: 9781797131573

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Forget the aesthetics of mainstream minimalism and discover a life of authenticity and intention with this practical guide to living with less—your way. When Christine Platt set out on her journey to live with less, she never intended to become The Afrominimalist. She just wanted to tame the chaos in her closet. But after struggling with the austerity and whiteness of mainstream minimalism, Christine realized why minimalism often seems unattainable for so many: the emphasis on all-white, barren aesthetics distracts from the practice of living with intention. And so, she decided to do things her way by curating a life of less, influenced by the African diaspora. In The Afrominimalist’s Guide to Living with Less, Christine gets to the heart of how childhood experiences and expectations manifest in adulthood, the delicate dance between needs and wants and the complicated weight of familial and societal pressures. A far cry from Konmaried closets, capsule wardrobes, and conspicuous consumption, Christine’s brand of “living with less” is more than a decluttering regimen. Inspired by her personal journey, Christine presents a radical revisioning of minimalism, one that celebrates the importance of history and heritage and gives you permission to make space for what really matters—your way. This book is a testament to the idea that anyone can be a minimalist and a warm invitation to a life curated with intention, perfect for readers of Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus, Marie Kondo, Joshua Becker, and Courtney Carver.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Forget the aesthetics of mainstream minimalism and discover a life of authenticity and intention with this practical guide to living with less—your way.

When Christine Platt set out on her journey to live with less, she never intended to become The Afrominimalist. She just wanted to tame the chaos in her closet. But after struggling with the austerity and whiteness of mainstream minimalism, Christine realized why minimalism often seems unattainable for so many: the emphasis on all-white, barren aesthetics distracts from the practice of living with intention. And so, she decided to do things her way by curating a life of less, influenced by the African diaspora.

In The Afrominimalist’s Guide to Living with Less, Christine gets to the heart of how childhood experiences and expectations manifest in adulthood, the delicate dance between needs and wants and the complicated weight of familial and societal pressures. A far cry from Konmaried closets, capsule wardrobes, and conspicuous consumption, Christine’s brand of “living with less” is more than a decluttering regimen. Inspired by her personal journey, Christine presents a radical revisioning of minimalism, one that celebrates the importance of history and heritage and gives you permission to make space for what really matters—your way.

This book is a testament to the idea that anyone can be a minimalist and a warm invitation to a life curated with intention, perfect for readers of Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus, Marie Kondo, Joshua Becker, and Courtney Carver.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“What Platt has created is less of a script or scripture and more of a Rorschach test for each reader…to see ourselves in it however we need to, in hopes to make living with less, living as more.”  Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down
“By detailing her own maximalist-to-minimalist transformation, Platt puts readers at ease—there’s no stuff-shaming—with humor and a heavy dose of ‘been-there, bought-that, never-worn-it’ empathy.”  Washington Post
“This book is an extraordinary, life-changing invitation to live life on your terms.” Courtney Carver, author of Soulful Simplicity

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Christine Platt

Author Bio: Christine Platt

Christine Platt is a modern-day Renaissance woman. From her work serving as an advocate for policy reform to using the power of storytelling as a tool for social change, she reflects her practice of living with intention. She holds a BA degree in Africana studies, an MA in African-American studies, and a JD in general law. She has written over two dozen literary works for people of all ages. She curates The Afrominimalist—a creative platform chronicling her journey to minimalism. Visit her online at TheAfrominimalist.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Nonfiction
Runtime: 5.60
Audience: Adult
Language: English