Bloomsbury Girls by Natalie Jenner audiobook

Bloomsbury Girls: A Novel

By Natalie Jenner
Read by Juliet Stevenson

Macmillan Audio 9781250276698
1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $31.99

    ISBN: 9781250852311

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Natalie Jenner, the internationally bestselling author of The Jane Austen Society, returns with a compelling and heartwarming story of post-war London, a century-old bookstore, and three women determined to find their way in a fast-changing world in Bloomsbury Girls. Bloomsbury Books is an old-fashioned new and rare book store that has persisted and resisted change for a hundred years, run by men and guided by the general manager's unbreakable fifty-one rules. But in 1950, the world is changing, especially the world of books and publishing, and at Bloomsbury Books, the girls in the shop have plans: Vivien Lowry: Single since her aristocratic fiance was killed in action during World War II, the brilliant and stylish Vivien has a long list of grievances--most of them well justified and the biggest of which is Alec McDonough, the Head of Fiction. Grace Perkins: Married with two sons, she's been working to support the family following her husband's breakdown in the aftermath of the war. Torn between duty to her family and dreams of her own. Evie Stone: In the first class of female students from Cambridge permitted to earn a degree, Evie was denied an academic position in favor of her less accomplished male rival. Now she's working at Bloomsbury Books while she plans to remake her own future. As they interact with various literary figures of the time--Daphne Du Maurier, Ellen Doubleday, Sonia Blair (widow of George Orwell), Samuel Beckett, Peggy Guggenheim, and others--these three women with their complex web of relationships, goals and dreams are all working to plot out a future that is richer and more rewarding than anything society will allow. A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Natalie Jenner, the internationally bestselling author of The Jane Austen Society, returns with a compelling and heartwarming story of post-war London, a century-old bookstore, and three women determined to find their way in a fast-changing world in Bloomsbury Girls. Bloomsbury Books is an old-fashioned new and rare book store that has persisted and resisted change for a hundred years, run by men and guided by the general manager's unbreakable fifty-one rules. But in 1950, the world is changing, especially the world of books and publishing, and at Bloomsbury Books, the girls in the shop have plans: Vivien Lowry: Single since her aristocratic fiance was killed in action during World War II, the brilliant and stylish Vivien has a long list of grievances--most of them well justified and the biggest of which is Alec McDonough, the Head of Fiction. Grace Perkins: Married with two sons, she's been working to support the family following her husband's breakdown in the aftermath of the war. Torn between duty to her family and dreams of her own. Evie Stone: In the first class of female students from Cambridge permitted to earn a degree, Evie was denied an academic position in favor of her less accomplished male rival. Now she's working at Bloomsbury Books while she plans to remake her own future. As they interact with various literary figures of the time--Daphne Du Maurier, Ellen Doubleday, Sonia Blair (widow of George Orwell), Samuel Beckett, Peggy Guggenheim, and others--these three women with their complex web of relationships, goals and dreams are all working to plot out a future that is richer and more rewarding than anything society will allow. A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Another top-notch reading experience…complex, emotionally engaging characters [against] a backdrop chock-full of factual historical information…Fans of Christina Baker Kline, Kate Quinn, and Pam Jenoff…will appreciate this gem.” Booklist (starred review)
"Jenner has penned a timely and beautiful ode to ambition, friendship, bookshops, and the written word.” Janet Skeslien Charles, author of The Paris Library
“Bloomsbury Girls is a book lover’s dream…Jenner has created a colorful cast of characters in a story about friendship, perseverance, and the ways that determined women can band together in a man’s world. You’re in for a treat.” Sarah Penner, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Natalie Jenner

Author Bio: Natalie Jenner

Natalie Jenner was born in England and emigrated to Canada as a young child. She graduated from the University of Toronto with consecutive degrees in English Literature and Law. Following a brief career as a corporate lawyer, Natalie worked as a recruiter, career coach, and consultant to leading law firms in Canada for over twenty years. She founded the independent bookstore Archetype Books in Oakville, Ontario, where she lives with her family and two rescue dogs.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Audience: Adult
Language: English