The Color Storm by Damian Dibben audiobook

The Color Storm: A Novel of Renaissance Venice

By Damian Dibben
Read by Ben Allen

Harlequin Audio, Hanover Square Press 9781335015938
14.13 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $51.99

    Special Price $33.79

    Available on 09/06/2022

    ISBN: 9798200916269

  • Regular Price: $41.99

    Special Price $27.29

    Available on 09/06/2022

    ISBN: 9798200916276

Enter the world of Renaissance Venice, where the competition for fame and fortune can mean life or death, in this immersive novel of art and the Inquisition, for readers of Sarah Perry and Jessie Burton. Giorgio “Giorgione” Barbarelli’s career hangs in the balance. A student of Bellini and a mentor-turned-rival of Titian, he’s seen his reputation fall out of favor and his debts pile up. When he hears a rumor of a mysterious, other-worldly new pigment, brought to Venice by the richest man in Europe, he sets out acquire the rare color and secure his name in history. Winning a commission to paint a portrait of the rich man’s wife, Giorgione thinks he has found a way into the merchant’s favor. Instead the woman draws him into her confidence, revealing the true reason her husband’s come to Venice. Giorgione finds himself caught up in a conspiracy that stretches across Europe and a marriage coming apart inside one of the floating city’s most illustrious palazzos. Atmospheric and suspenseful, and filled with the famous artists of the era, The Colourist captures the fascinating world of Venice at the height of its power and a moment of artistic invention that echoes through the centuries.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Enter the world of Renaissance Venice, where the competition for fame and fortune can mean life or death, in this immersive novel of art and the Inquisition, for readers of Sarah Perry and Jessie Burton.

Giorgio “Giorgione” Barbarelli’s career hangs in the balance. A student of Bellini and a mentor-turned-rival of Titian, he’s seen his reputation fall out of favor and his debts pile up. When he hears a rumor of a mysterious, other-worldly new pigment, brought to Venice by the richest man in Europe, he sets out acquire the rare color and secure his name in history.

Winning a commission to paint a portrait of the rich man’s wife, Giorgione thinks he has found a way into the merchant’s favor. Instead the woman draws him into her confidence, revealing the true reason her husband’s come to Venice. Giorgione finds himself caught up in a conspiracy that stretches across Europe and a marriage coming apart inside one of the floating city’s most illustrious palazzos.

Atmospheric and suspenseful, and filled with the famous artists of the era, The Colourist captures the fascinating world of Venice at the height of its power and a moment of artistic invention that echoes through the centuries.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Damian Dibben

Author Bio: Damian Dibben

Damian Dibben is the creator of the internationally acclaimed children’s book series the History Keepers, translated into twenty-six languages in over forty countries. His first book for adults is Tomorrow. Previously, he worked as a screenwriter, and actor, on projects as diverse as The Phantom of the Opera and Puss in Boots and Young Indiana Jones. He lives, facing St Paul’s Cathedral, on London’s Southbank with his partner Ali and dog Dudley.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 14.13
Audience: Adult
Language: English