A World with No Shore by Hélène Gaudy audiobook

A World with No Shore

By Hélène Gaudy
Translated by Stephanie Smee
Read by Katherine Littrell

Blackstone Publishing 9781760642815
8.11 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $36.95

    Special Price $24.02

    ISBN: 9798200957460

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $31.95

    Special Price $20.77

    ISBN: 9798200957477

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

The surprise French bestseller—a brilliant contemporary twist on the historical novel I can’t go with you. Spring 1897: Anna Charlier farewells her fiancé Nils, the explorer, as he sets off to conquer the world. She will endure many years of waiting and the unknown, will marry and move continents, but will never be able to forget. Summer 1930, Svalbard, Norway: a walrus-hunting boat sets sail for White Island, one of the last lands before the North Pole. The melting ice has revealed terrain that is usually inaccessible. As they move across the island, the men discover bodies and the remains of a makeshift camp. It is the solution to a mystery that has hung in the air for thirty-three years: the disappearance in July 1897 of Salomon August Andrée, Knut Frænkel, and Nils Strindberg as they tried to reach the North Pole in a hot air balloon. Among the remains some rolls of negatives are found, and one hundred images are retrieved. Based on these lunar-like black-and-white photographs and the expedition logbook, Hélène Gaudy retraces and reimagines this great adventure that was blown off course, weaving in the painfully beautiful love affair of Nils and Anna. From the conquest of the skies to the exploration of the poles, this haunting and brilliant award-winning novel, set in the ethereal landscape of the Arctic, reflects on the human need to discover, describe, conquer, and ultimately shrink the world. For fans of Anna Funder, Maggie O’Farrell, Eleanor Catton, and W. G. Sebald.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

The surprise French bestseller—a brilliant contemporary twist on the historical novel

I can’t go with you. Spring 1897: Anna Charlier farewells her fiancé Nils, the explorer, as he sets off to conquer the world. She will endure many years of waiting and the unknown, will marry and move continents, but will never be able to forget.

Summer 1930, Svalbard, Norway: a walrus-hunting boat sets sail for White Island, one of the last lands before the North Pole. The melting ice has revealed terrain that is usually inaccessible. As they move across the island, the men discover bodies and the remains of a makeshift camp. It is the solution to a mystery that has hung in the air for thirty-three years: the disappearance in July 1897 of Salomon August Andrée, Knut Frænkel, and Nils Strindberg as they tried to reach the North Pole in a hot air balloon. Among the remains some rolls of negatives are found, and one hundred images are retrieved.

Based on these lunar-like black-and-white photographs and the expedition logbook, Hélène Gaudy retraces and reimagines this great adventure that was blown off course, weaving in the painfully beautiful love affair of Nils and Anna. From the conquest of the skies to the exploration of the poles, this haunting and brilliant award-winning novel, set in the ethereal landscape of the Arctic, reflects on the human need to discover, describe, conquer, and ultimately shrink the world.

For fans of Anna Funder, Maggie O’Farrell, Eleanor Catton, and W. G. Sebald.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Surveyed with the acuity of an ivory gull hovering above the Arctic ice, Hélène Gaudy fully inhabits this dazzling story of exploration, mystery, and loss, in a sweep of human endeavor.” Robyn Mundy, author of Cold Coast
“Hélène Gaudy provides a profound and thought-provoking meditation on the human need to explore and discover, in a book that blurs the boundaries between history, fiction, and reportage.” Kate Forsyth, author of Bitter Greens
“I thoroughly enjoyed this taut rumination on grief, memory, and human connection. Hélène Gaudy’s exquisite prose will hook you from the very first line and Stephanie Smee’s thoughtful translation perfectly captures the cold beauty of the Arctic regions. This book is a real gift.” Lauren Chater, author of Gulliver’s Wife
“Luminous…the beautiful prose weaves a net of wonder around you.” Nikki Gemmell, internationally bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Hélène Gaudy

Author Bio: Hélène Gaudy

Born in Paris in 1979, Hélène Gaudy studied at the school of decorative arts in Strasbourg. She is a member of the Inculte collective and lives in Paris. She is the author of several novels and has also written some dozen books for children.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 8.11
Audience: Adult
Language: English