Stargazer by Laurie Petrou audiobook

Stargazer

By Laurie Petrou
Read by Erin Bennett

Blackstone Publishing 9780857308221
8.94 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $36.95

    Special Price $24.02

    ISBN: 9798200992096

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $31.95

    Special Price $20.77

    ISBN: 9798200992102

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

A darkly compelling coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History or Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies It is the fall of 1995 at Rocky Barrens University, hidden amidst the pine trees and starry skies of Northern Ontario. Aurelle Taylor, daughter of a world-famous fashion designer, becomes the closest friend of burgeoning painter Diana Martin; they have bonded over a mutual desire to escape their wealthy families and personal tragedies and begin new lives as students at RBU. They are closer than lovers, they are like one thing, intoxicated by their own bond, falling into the hedonistic seduction of the woods and the water at a university that is more summer camp than campus. Diana, who has lived her life under the shadow of her sadistic older brother, rockets to fame with a series of scandalous portraits of Aurelle, whose response is to tumble further into a drug-fueled escapism. Diana must choose whether to rescue her kindred spirit from destruction, or to abandon Aurelle for the fame she has forever thirsted after. The lines between love, envy, and obsession blur in Laurie Petrou’s utterly enthralling, unceasingly tense second novel.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A darkly compelling coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History or Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies

It is the fall of 1995 at Rocky Barrens University, hidden amidst the pine trees and starry skies of Northern Ontario. Aurelle Taylor, daughter of a world-famous fashion designer, becomes the closest friend of burgeoning painter Diana Martin; they have bonded over a mutual desire to escape their wealthy families and personal tragedies and begin new lives as students at RBU.

They are closer than lovers, they are like one thing, intoxicated by their own bond, falling into the hedonistic seduction of the woods and the water at a university that is more summer camp than campus. Diana, who has lived her life under the shadow of her sadistic older brother, rockets to fame with a series of scandalous portraits of Aurelle, whose response is to tumble further into a drug-fueled escapism. Diana must choose whether to rescue her kindred spirit from destruction, or to abandon Aurelle for the fame she has forever thirsted after.

The lines between love, envy, and obsession blur in Laurie Petrou’s utterly enthralling, unceasingly tense second novel.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A sinuous, captivating exploration of the mysterious depths of female friendship…Petrou’s dreamlike, note-perfect prose simmers toward a shattering conclusion. This unforgettable novel from a truly talented novelist is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng.” Marissa Stapley, New York Times bestselling author
“A chilling look at the fine line between love and obsession, longing and desperation, ambition and mania…These women will haunt you.” Gin Phillips, bestselling author of The Well and the Mine
“Stargazer is a galaxy of a novel: At once a story of friendship, a coming of age, and a dark and utterly captivating tale of family, lust, loss, fame, art, and the ever competing hope and destructiveness of youth.” Amy Stuart, #1 internationally bestselling author
“An outstanding book with some of the most beautiful lines I’ve ever read.” Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today bestselling author
“A slow-burn literary thriller in the best possible way: eerie, beautiful, and impossible to put down. I loved it.” Robyn Harding, internationally bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Laurie Petrou

Author Bio: Laurie Petrou

Laurie Petrou is an associate professor at the RTA School of Media at Ryerson University in Toronto. Her first book, a collection of short stories titled Between, was a Globe and Mail Top 100 Book. She is the inaugural winner of the 2016 Half the World Global Literati Award for her then-unpublished novel Sister of Mine.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 8.94
Audience: Adult
Language: English