It All Comes Down to This by Therese Anne Fowler audiobook

It All Comes Down to This: A Novel

By Therese Anne Fowler
Read by Barrie Kreinik

Macmillan Audio 9781250278074
1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $31.99

    Available on 06/07/2022

    ISBN: 9781250835536

A warm, keenly perceptive novel of sisterhood, heartbreak, home, and what it takes to remake a life at its halfway point, for fans of Ann Patchett and Emma Straub. Meet the Geller sisters: Beck, Claire, and Sophie, a trio of strong-minded women whose pragmatic, widowed mother, Marti, will be dying soon. Marti has ensured that her modest estate is easy for her family once she’s gone––including a provision that the family’s summer cottage on Mount Desert Island, Maine, must be sold, the proceeds split equally between the three girls. Beck, the eldest, is a freelance journalist whose marriage looks more like a sibling bond than a passionate partnership. In fact, her husband is hiding a troubling truth about his love life. For Beck, the Maine cottage has been essential to her secret wish to write a novel––and to remake the terms of her relationship. Despite her accomplishments as a pediatric cardiologist, Claire, the middle daughter, has always felt like the Geller misfit. Recently divorced, Claire’s unrequited love for the wrong man is slowly destroying her, and she’s finding that her expertise on matters of the heart unfortunately doesn’t extend to her own. Youngest daughter Sophie appears to live an Instagram-ready life, filled with glamorous work and travel, celebrities, fashion, art, and sex. In reality, her existence is a cash-strapped house of cards that may tumble at any moment. But when C. J. Reynolds, an enigmatic southerner with his own hidden past enters the picture, the future of the Maine cottage–and of the sisters themselves–will take on an entirely new dimension.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A warm, keenly perceptive novel of sisterhood, heartbreak, home, and what it takes to remake a life at its halfway point, for fans of Ann Patchett and Emma Straub.

Meet the Geller sisters: Beck, Claire, and Sophie, a trio of strong-minded women whose pragmatic, widowed mother, Marti, will be dying soon. Marti has ensured that her modest estate is easy for her family once she’s gone––including a provision that the family’s summer cottage on Mount Desert Island, Maine, must be sold, the proceeds split equally between the three girls.

Beck, the eldest, is a freelance journalist whose marriage looks more like a sibling bond than a passionate partnership. In fact, her husband is hiding a troubling truth about his love life. For Beck, the Maine cottage has been essential to her secret wish to write a novel––and to remake the terms of her relationship.

Despite her accomplishments as a pediatric cardiologist, Claire, the middle daughter, has always felt like the Geller misfit. Recently divorced, Claire’s unrequited love for the wrong man is slowly destroying her, and she’s finding that her expertise on matters of the heart unfortunately doesn’t extend to her own.

Youngest daughter Sophie appears to live an Instagram-ready life, filled with glamorous work and travel, celebrities, fashion, art, and sex. In reality, her existence is a cash-strapped house of cards that may tumble at any moment.

But when C. J. Reynolds, an enigmatic southerner with his own hidden past enters the picture, the future of the Maine cottage–and of the sisters themselves–will take on an entirely new dimension.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“One of the most precise and timely novels of the year…boiling toward an inevitable and wrenching conclusion.” Newsweek
“Fowler’s novel culminates with injustices that are painfully easy to imagine because they continue to be a part of our contemporary lived experience.” Washington Post
“Fowler’s insight into the way we re-open ourselves for love, time and again, speaks stirringly to the heart.” Wilton Barnhardt, author of Lookaway, Lookaway
“A smart and lively novel, one that had me turning its pages faster and faster.” Jess Walter, author of The Cold Millions
“A compulsively readable, thoroughly enjoyable tale…Contemporary, but with a delightfully Austenish tone, I read it in a single gulp.” Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author
“A big-hearted novel about middle-aged women reckoning with their own heavy secret and each other. This novel is entertaining, in the best sense of the word and a true page-turner." Ann Napolitano, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Therese Anne Fowler

Author Bio: Therese Anne Fowler

Therese Anne Fowler is the author of the New York Times bestselling novel Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald. Raised in the Midwest, she migrated to North Carolina in 1995. She holds a BA in sociology/cultural anthropology and an MFA in creative writing from North Carolina State University.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Women
Audience: Adult
Language: English