Violet and Jobie in the Wild by Lynne Rae Perkins audiobook

Violet and Jobie in the Wild

By Lynne Rae Perkins
Read by TBD

Greenwillow Books, HarperCollins 9780062499691
1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $41.99

    Special Price $27.29

    Available on 09/13/2022

    ISBN: 9798212161206

  • Regular Price: $41.99

    Special Price $27.29

    Available on 09/13/2022

    ISBN: 9798212161213

Newbery Medal winner Lynne Rae Perkins introduces Violet and Jobie, two house mice exiled to the wilderness, in an exceptional read-aloud and read-alone for fans of Skunk and Badger,Nuts to You, and classic animal stories such as Stuart Little. This thrilling—and funny!—animal adventure explores themes of friendship, family, bravery, and the meaning of home. Violet & Jobie in the Wild is illustrated in black-and-white throughout by the author. Brother and sister mice Violet and Jobie live a cozy and comfortable life in a humans’ house, where food is plentiful and the television is good. In fact, Violet, tucked safely behind a book in the bookcase, loves to watch nature programs along with the young boy of the family. The boy’s mother, however, isn’t the biggest fan of mice. When Violet and Jobie are caught in a trap, the young boy pleads with his mother to release them, and she agrees. Now Violet and Jobie find themselves in tall grasses, under tall trees, surrounded by all kinds of unfamiliar scents and sounds and creatures. In short, they find themselves in the wild. How will they survive? This short, generously illustrated novel is packed with action, humor, heart, friendship, and surprises. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins’s Violet & Jobie in the Wild will resonate with readers who love books about animals.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Newbery Medal winner Lynne Rae Perkins introduces Violet and Jobie, two house mice exiled to the wilderness, in an exceptional read-aloud and read-alone for fans of Skunk and Badger,Nuts to You, and classic animal stories such as Stuart Little. This thrilling—and funny!—animal adventure explores themes of friendship, family, bravery, and the meaning of home. Violet & Jobie in the Wild is illustrated in black-and-white throughout by the author.

Brother and sister mice Violet and Jobie live a cozy and comfortable life in a humans’ house, where food is plentiful and the television is good. In fact, Violet, tucked safely behind a book in the bookcase, loves to watch nature programs along with the young boy of the family. The boy’s mother, however, isn’t the biggest fan of mice.

When Violet and Jobie are caught in a trap, the young boy pleads with his mother to release them, and she agrees. Now Violet and Jobie find themselves in tall grasses, under tall trees, surrounded by all kinds of unfamiliar scents and sounds and creatures. In short, they find themselves in the wild. How will they survive?

This short, generously illustrated novel is packed with action, humor, heart, friendship, and surprises. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins’s Violet & Jobie in the Wild will resonate with readers who love books about animals.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lynne Rae Perkins

Author Bio: Lynne Rae Perkins

Lynne Rae Perkins was awarded the Newbery Medal for her young adult novel Criss Cross. She is also the author of All Alone in the Universe, the award-winning companion to Criss Cross. An artist as well as a writer, Perkins has published several acclaimed picture books, including The Broken CatSnow MusicPictures from Our Vacation, and The Cardboard Piano. She lives with her family in northern Michigan.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English