Midnight at the Shelter by Nanci Turner Steveson audiobook

Midnight at the Shelter

By Nanci Turner Steveson

Quill Tree Books, HarperCollins 9780062673213
1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $41.99

    Special Price $27.29

    Available on 11/01/2022

    ISBN: 9798212039291

  • Regular Price: $41.99

    Special Price $27.29

    Available on 11/01/2022

    ISBN: 9798212039307

Written with a distinctively doggy voice, great humor, and plenty of heart, this novel from acclaimed author Nanci Turner Steveson is a perfect pick for readers looking for a touching animal story in the vein of Because of Winn-Dixie or Marley & Me. Rescue dog MahDi is happy helping his human partner, “MomDoc,” with the important work at her vet clinic and the local animal shelter. The two of them make a good team, caring for the town’s pets and matchmaking rescue animals with the families who need them. When the shelter is suddenly down a staff member, the animals have to deal with a new caretaker: Huck, an unpleasant man who seems to have no problem threatening the animals he’s supposed to care for. As more dogs crowd into the shelter than are going to new homes, MahDi begins to worry that if MomDoc isn’t around, there is no telling what Huck might do. With three perfectly good legs, the heart of a true leader, and his pack mates by his side, MahDi is willing to risk everything to save his shelter-friends from an uncertain future.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Written with a distinctively doggy voice, great humor, and plenty of heart, this novel from acclaimed author Nanci Turner Steveson is a perfect pick for readers looking for a touching animal story in the vein of Because of Winn-Dixie or Marley & Me.

Rescue dog MahDi is happy helping his human partner, “MomDoc,” with the important work at her vet clinic and the local animal shelter. The two of them make a good team, caring for the town’s pets and matchmaking rescue animals with the families who need them.

When the shelter is suddenly down a staff member, the animals have to deal with a new caretaker: Huck, an unpleasant man who seems to have no problem threatening the animals he’s supposed to care for. As more dogs crowd into the shelter than are going to new homes, MahDi begins to worry that if MomDoc isn’t around, there is no telling what Huck might do.

With three perfectly good legs, the heart of a true leader, and his pack mates by his side, MahDi is willing to risk everything to save his shelter-friends from an uncertain future.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nanci Turner Steveson

Author Bio: Nanci Turner Steveson

Nanci Turner Steveson grew up in Connecticut, England, and Texas, always with a book in one hand and the reins of a pony in the other. She works as a riding instructor and as a stage manager with the Off Square Theatre Company. She is also the founder of the Literacy for Hope Project, dedicated to getting books into the hands of the homeless. Nanci lives in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, with her Arabian horse and rescue dog.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English