Blood Circus by Camila Victoire audiobook

Blood Circus

By Camila Victoire

Blackstone Publishing 9798200816088
1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $46.95

    Special Price $30.52

    Available on 01/31/2023

    ISBN: 9798200813544

  • Regular Price: $31.95

    Special Price $20.77

    Available on 01/31/2023

    ISBN: 9798200813551

  • Regular Price: $19.99

    Special Price $12.99

    Available on 01/31/2023

    ISBN: 9798200816088

In this lush and terrifying debut—perfect for readers of The Hunger Games and Children of Blood and Bone—Camila Victoire draws upon her own experience in a traveling circus to create a future where cruelty and spectacle hold the keys to subjugating humans on a ravaged earth. At the end of the twenty-first century, climate change and famine almost ended humanity—until the discovery of the Klujns, a barbaric, humanoid species with strangely colored eyes and even stranger abilities. Their crystal claws and bones fertilize barren soil, and their tender meat is a super-protein. Klujns are both humans’ saviors and natural-born enemies, meant to be hunted and used. When sixteen-year-old Ava finds herself on the wrong side of a military fence erected to protect the North American Territory, she’s captured by Klujns and made to participate in the Blood Race, a macabre tradition where young human hostages compete to the death for Klujn amusement. At first, she is terrified, but as Ava observes Klujn behavior that contradicts what she’s learned, she begins to wonder: Are Klujns as different as she was led to believe? And, as she fights for her life, does it matter? Inspired by the dark, bohemian influence of the circus she traveled with for four years, Camila Victoire delivers a twisted coming-of-age tale that combines elements of fantasy, magical realism, and suspense. Blood Circus will capture fans of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games, and Tomi Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone. Its masterful worldbuilding, plot twists, and boundary-pushing Blood Race are wholly immersive—and compel readers to call their own long-held assumptions, values, and belief systems into question.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

In this lush and terrifying debut—perfect for readers of The Hunger Games and Children of Blood and Bone—Camila Victoire draws upon her own experience in a traveling circus to create a future where cruelty and spectacle hold the keys to subjugating humans on a ravaged earth.

At the end of the twenty-first century, climate change and famine almost ended humanity—until the discovery of the Klujns, a barbaric, humanoid species with strangely colored eyes and even stranger abilities. Their crystal claws and bones fertilize barren soil, and their tender meat is a super-protein. Klujns are both humans’ saviors and natural-born enemies, meant to be hunted and used.

When sixteen-year-old Ava finds herself on the wrong side of a military fence erected to protect the North American Territory, she’s captured by Klujns and made to participate in the Blood Race, a macabre tradition where young human hostages compete to the death for Klujn amusement. At first, she is terrified, but as Ava observes Klujn behavior that contradicts what she’s learned, she begins to wonder: Are Klujns as different as she was led to believe? And, as she fights for her life, does it matter?

Inspired by the dark, bohemian influence of the circus she traveled with for four years, Camila Victoire delivers a twisted coming-of-age tale that combines elements of fantasy, magical realism, and suspense. Blood Circus will capture fans of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games, and Tomi Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone. Its masterful worldbuilding, plot twists, and boundary-pushing Blood Race are wholly immersive—and compel readers to call their own long-held assumptions, values, and belief systems into question.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“I could not stop reading Blood Circus from the moment I started. The world is fascinating, and the story is brilliantly told. Love, love, love.” Storm Reid, actress, winner of the Teen Choice Award and NAACP Image Award

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Camila Victoire

Author Bio: Camila Victoire

Camila Victoire is a French Canadian / Australian novelist and screenwriter currently based in Montreal. She toured for four years with a circus before going to study writing for film and TV at the Vancouver Film School, from which she graduated in 2015. The daughter of two performance artists, she is a born nomad. Her stories are nourished by her adventures, from exploring the haunted forests of Transylvania to venturing deep into the jungles of Peru. This is her first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD, Hardcover
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English