Muffled by Jennifer Gennari audiobook

Muffled

By Jennifer Gennari
Read by Julia Atwood

Blackstone Publishing 9781534463653
4.40 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $31.95

    Special Price $20.77

    ISBN: 9798212174046

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $21.95

    Special Price $14.27

    ISBN: 9798212174053

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

A young girl learns how to cope with her noise sensitivity and step outside of her comfort zone in this heartwarming middle grade novel that’s perfect for fans of If This Were a Story and El Deafo. Ten-year-old Amelia does not like noise. From subway brakes to squeaky sneakers, she is sensitive to sound, just like her dad. Amelia has always worn noise-canceling headphones, but now that she’s going into fifth grade, her parents want her to stop wearing them. To make matters worse, she must learn to play an instrument! Or, as Amelia sees it, make noise on purpose. To help Amelia cope, her father gives her a pair of earmuffs to wear instead. Even with her new earmuffs, Amelia struggles at school … until she gets partnered with Madge in music class. Madge is loud and bold and goofy—everything Amelia is not. And so Amelia is surprised when Madge wants to be friends. Still, it’s not long before Amelia’s quiet nature clashes with Madge’s loud personality. And when Madge disappears after an argument, Amelia fears Madge might be in trouble. If she’s going to help her friend, she will have to find a way to let in the noisy world she’s muffled for so long.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A young girl learns how to cope with her noise sensitivity and step outside of her comfort zone in this heartwarming middle grade novel that’s perfect for fans of If This Were a Story and El Deafo.

Ten-year-old Amelia does not like noise. From subway brakes to squeaky sneakers, she is sensitive to sound, just like her dad. Amelia has always worn noise-canceling headphones, but now that she’s going into fifth grade, her parents want her to stop wearing them. To make matters worse, she must learn to play an instrument! Or, as Amelia sees it, make noise on purpose.

To help Amelia cope, her father gives her a pair of earmuffs to wear instead. Even with her new earmuffs, Amelia struggles at school … until she gets partnered with Madge in music class. Madge is loud and bold and goofy—everything Amelia is not. And so Amelia is surprised when Madge wants to be friends.

Still, it’s not long before Amelia’s quiet nature clashes with Madge’s loud personality. And when Madge disappears after an argument, Amelia fears Madge might be in trouble. If she’s going to help her friend, she will have to find a way to let in the noisy world she’s muffled for so long.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Gennari effectively works Amelia’s experience onto nearly every page, making each of her hard-won victories resonate powerfully.” Publishers Weekly
“A sweet book that packs a quiet punch. Readers will feel for quiet Amelia as she fights to find her place in a noisy world.” Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Newbery Honor book Al Capone Does My Shirts
“Amelia’s voice rings as clear and true as a song. Readers will root for her as she finds friends and music in her own way. A thoughtful, rewarding middle-grade story.” Beth Turley, author of If This Were a Story

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jennifer Gennari

Author Bio: Jennifer Gennari

Jennifer Gennari played the clarinet when she was younger—and quickly switched to choir! She loves quiet time, especially in a library. Her debut novel, My Mixed-Up Berry Blue Summer, was an ALA Rainbow List title and a Bank Street Best Children’s Books of the Year. A graduate of Vermont College of Fine Arts, she grew up in Boston and now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. Learn more at JenGennari.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 4.40
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English