To Dwell in Darkness by Deborah Crombie audiobook

To Dwell in Darkness: A Novel

By Deborah Crombie
Read by Gerard Doyle

HarperCollins, HarperAudio 9780062271600

The Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James Novels: Book 16

10.52 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $44.99

    Special Price $29.24

    ISBN: 9781482992434

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.  Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander. The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss—who's been avoiding him—is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

 Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss—who's been avoiding him—is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“As always, the characters have rich personal lives, and their interaction makes the story more nuanced and compelling.” Contra Costa Times
“Crombie thoroughly immerses the reader in the crime solving, as well as the home lives of those trying to solve the crime…The city’s tube and train stations, as well as various other landmarks, figure prominently in the story. Best of all, the eerily open ending sets the stage for the next installment.” Publishers Weekly
“[Crombie’s] mystery is enriched by a wealth of detail about St. Pancras’ history and architecture that would do Margaret Truman proud.” Kirkus Reviews
“Gerard Doyle’s performance keeps listeners riveted…Doyle’s intensity reflects the urgency Scotland Yard Superintendent Kincaid faces…Doyle softens his delivery for Gemma and is convincing as the children…Crombie’s plotting is credible, fast paced, and smart, and Doyle’s narration is terrific, as always.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Deborah Crombie

Author Bio: Deborah Crombie

Deborah Crombie is a Macavity Award winner and a finalist for the Edgar Award and the Agatha Award, as well as a New York Times bestselling author. She has written more than a dozen novels and is best known for her contemporary mystery series featuring Scotland Yard’s Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James. Among this series is Dreaming of the Bones, which was selected as one of the 100 Best Crime Novels of the Century by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.52
Audience: Adult
Language: English