Screen by Barry N. Malzberg audiobook

Screen

By Barry N. Malzberg
Directed by  Cassandra de Cuir
Read by Stefan Rudnicki

Skyboat Media 9780700400102
4.80 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $14.98

    ISBN: 9781481504805

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $14.98

    ISBN: 9781481504799

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Screen is Barry N. Malzberg's daring and controversial debut novel about a man who can only obtain sexual satisfaction by projecting himself into fantasies evoked by the cinema. In the tradition of Vladimir Nabokov, Malzberg draws his readers over the precipice of rationality into a realm where dreams are real—a realm in which the hero, a humble investigator for the New York City Welfare Department, finds himself married to Sophia Loren, seducing Elizabeth Taylor, and seduced by Brigitte Bardot—all in one tortured weekend.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Screen is Barry N. Malzberg's daring and controversial debut novel about a man who can only obtain sexual satisfaction by projecting himself into fantasies evoked by the cinema.

In the tradition of Vladimir Nabokov, Malzberg draws his readers over the precipice of rationality into a realm where dreams are real—a realm in which the hero, a humble investigator for the New York City Welfare Department, finds himself married to Sophia Loren, seducing Elizabeth Taylor, and seduced by Brigitte Bardot—all in one tortured weekend.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Malzberg’s books, in their tortured self-awareness, are primarily about writing: its technical difficulties and moral pitfalls, its potential to cheapen or calcify, its temptation to fraudulence or ventriloquism, the insisted-on inadequacy of language as an excuse for not being a less recursive or less involuted writer, and so on.” Paris Review, praise for the author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Barry N. Malzberg

Author Bio: Barry N. Malzberg

Barry N. Malzberg is a writer and editor of numerous science fiction anthologies and magazines. The author of more than 50 books and more than 250 short stories, he won the first John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the Year’s Best Science Fiction, has won two Locus Awards for essay collections, and has been a finalist for Hugo and Nebula awards.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Romance
Runtime: 4.80
Audience: Adult
Language: English