Enter Pale Death by Barbara Cleverly audiobook

Enter Pale Death

By Barbara Cleverly
Read by Matthew Brenher

Blackstone Publishing 9781616954086

The Joe Sandilands Murder Mysteries: Book 12

12.13 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781483038490

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781483038483

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

One morning before dawn at her regal country estate, Lady Lavinia Truelove is crushed to death by a horse. Classified as "death by misadventure," this appears a gruesome accident, but Scotland Yard detective Joe Sandilands suspects foul play—a misgiving he is struggling to separate from his personal grievances toward Sir James Truelove, who is Lady Lavinia's widower and the influential academic patron of Dorcas Joliffe, whom Joe one day hopes to marry. As Joe's investigation yields surprising secrets about one of England's most powerful families, he discovers how little he knew about not only the gilded lives of the moneyed but also his relationship with Dorcas. Is Joe prepared to risk a future with the girl he loves to uncover the truth behind Lady Truelove's death?

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Selected for the December 2014 Indie Next List

A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week, December 8, 2014

One morning before dawn at her regal country estate, Lady Lavinia Truelove is crushed to death by a horse. Classified as "death by misadventure," this appears a gruesome accident, but Scotland Yard detective Joe Sandilands suspects foul play—a misgiving he is struggling to separate from his personal grievances toward Sir James Truelove, who is Lady Lavinia's widower and the influential academic patron of Dorcas Joliffe, whom Joe one day hopes to marry. As Joe's investigation yields surprising secrets about one of England's most powerful families, he discovers how little he knew about not only the gilded lives of the moneyed but also his relationship with Dorcas. Is Joe prepared to risk a future with the girl he loves to uncover the truth behind Lady Truelove's death?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"[C]olorful and richly historical.” Cleveland Plain Dealer
“While there is an intriguing mystery at the heart of Enter Pale Death—one that is set up within the first few pages—one stays for the social intrigue and the historical setting, which Cleverly has nailed to the last nuance…Cleverly moves things along at a leisurely pace, but it’s all to give readers time to note the surroundings, which, like the mystery upon which the book is built, are first rate. Even if you don’t reflexively reach for historical mysteries, you should give Enter Pale Death a shot.” BookReporter.com
“Cleverly’s excellent twelfth whodunit featuring Scotland Yard Assistant Commissioner Joe Sandilands offers her sleuth a number of genuinely baffling crimes to solve…Cleverly manages to pull everything together logically, with more than a few surprises.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Joe Sandilands, Scotland Yard detective and self-described troublemaker, knows he’s entering quicksand when he explores an anonymous letter’s allegations that Lady Lavinia Truelove’s supposed accidental death was foul play connected to a decades-old murder on her Suffolk estate…Sandilands’ many fans, and readers who love Downton Abbey, Rennie Airth, and Charles Todd, will revel in this elegant, intricately woven mystery set in the early twentieth century.” Booklist
“Cleverly delivers a witty, atmospheric, and well-conceived slice of British crime…Her marvelous descriptions of country lore and an evocative Suffolk countryside setting provide a taste of all things British and may send curious readers scurrying to the library to learn more about the ancient traditions in this most ancient of lands.” BookPage
“Narrator Matthew Brenher sounds wonderfully at home in 1930s London and in the country house of Sir James Truelove…Brenher effortlessly negotiates the subtle class nuances among the servants and local police and the less subtle differences among their masters. Cleverly’s plotting keeps the listener guessing to the end.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Barbara Cleverly

Author Bio: Barbara Cleverly

Barbara Cleverly is a former teacher and a graduate of Durham University who now lives in Cambridge. Her debut, The Last Kashmiri Rose, was a New York Times Notable Book of 2002.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 12.13
Audience: Adult
Language: English