Furious Thing by Jenny Downham audiobook

Furious Thing

By Jenny Downham
Read by Jenny Downham

Scholastic Audio Books, Scholastic Inc 9781788450980
9.26 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.00

    ISBN: 9781338605242

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

From the critically acclaimed author of Before I Die comes a remarkably affecting story of a girl who burns with anger for reasons she can't understand, and the power and risk that comes with making noise. Fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Gayle Foreman will find their own fury in this exceptional novel for our times. Bad things happen when you're around, Lex... That's what her stepfather tells her. That's what she believes about herself. But how can she convince herself and everyone around her that her anger doesn't make her a monster? If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her stepfather would accept her, her mom would love her like she used to, andher stepbrother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly, she's determined to swallow her anger and make her family proud. But pushing fury down doesn't make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface, waiting to erupt. There'll be fireworks when it does... An intensely real story of manipulation and identity, Furious Thing is about the slippery slope of manipulation and how one girl canfight to claim back the spaces that belong to her.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Shortlisted for the 2020 YA Book Prize

A Sunday Times (London) Best Book of the Year for 2019

A London Financial Times Best Book of the Year Selection

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A 2019 Irish Times Best Book of the Year

A BookPage Top Pick for Teens

From the critically acclaimed author of Before I Die comes a remarkably affecting story of a girl who burns with anger for reasons she can't understand, and the power and risk that comes with making noise. Fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Gayle Foreman will find their own fury in this exceptional novel for our times.

Bad things happen when you're around, Lex...

That's what her stepfather tells her. That's what she believes about herself.

But how can she convince herself and everyone around her that her anger doesn't make her a monster? If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her stepfather would accept her, her mom would love her like she used to, andher stepbrother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly, she's determined to swallow her anger and make her family proud.

But pushing fury down doesn't make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface, waiting to erupt. There'll be fireworks when it does...

An intensely real story of manipulation and identity, Furious Thing is about the slippery slope of manipulation and how one girl canfight to claim back the spaces that belong to her.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Piercingly well-observed.” Financial Times (London)
“A wise, gripping and skilfully told story…It gives permission to rage when fury is warranted.” Sunday Times (London)
“Downham’s remarkable skills, both as author and as narrator, ensure that listeners will empathize with Lexi’s turmoil. Beautifully performed, this audiobook is certain to evoke deep emotions. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“A painfully enthralling, fiercely feminist account of emotional abuse and appropriate rage.” The Guardian (London)
“Her prose gets right down inside human fragility, tenderness, fury, gusto, and strength—leaving sweet, sharp images that are impossible to forget. Exceptional.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“[A] beautiful, funny, and heart-breaking story of family and life itself.” Bustle

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jenny Downham

Author Bio: Jenny Downham

Jenny Downham is a critically acclaimed novelist. Her debut novel, Before I Die, was shortlisted for numerous awards in the United Kingcom, including the Guardian Award and the Lancashire Children’s Book of the Year, nominated for the Carnegie Medal and the Booktrust Teenage Prize, and was the winner of the Branford Boase Award. Before I Die was made into a movie in 2012 called Now Is Good and starring Dakota Fanning in 2012.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Coming-of-Age
Runtime: 9.26
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English