June Sparrow and the Million-Dollar Penny by Rebecca Chace audiobook

June Sparrow and the Million-Dollar Penny

By Rebecca Chace
Read by Brittany Pressley

Balzer + Bray 9780062464989
5.54 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $19.49

    ISBN: 9781538417812

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781538417836

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

A charming, classic middle grade debut perfect for fans of Three Times Lucky and Because of Winn-Dixie with the most lovable pig since Wilbur in Charlotte’s Web. June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo Bunting—have always been just fine on their own. June is a wealthy orphan who’s lived in New York City her whole life. But on June’s twelfth birthday, she suddenly loses her fortune and is forced to move in with an aunt she’s never even met, in the tiny town of Red Bank, South Dakota, a place so small that it doesn’t even have a traffic light. Now June has to live on a farm with grouchy Aunt Bridget, who sees her best friend as potential bacon! Then one day, June finds a mysterious Penny Book that her mother used to keep. She is instantly intrigued by what her mother called the Big One, the rarest and most valuable of all pennies. Finding it could be June’s ticket back to New York and her old life. But the only guide June and Indigo have is a cryptic list her mom left behind. To decode the list and find the Big One, June and Indigo enlist the help of some new friends in Red Bank and turn the town upside down in their search. But the most surprising mystery of all may be what brought June to Red Bank in the first place—and what is most valuable to her in the end.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A charming, classic middle grade debut perfect for fans of Three Times Lucky and Because of Winn-Dixie with the most lovable pig since Wilbur in Charlotte’s Web.

June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo Bunting—have always been just fine on their own. June is a wealthy orphan who’s lived in New York City her whole life. But on June’s twelfth birthday, she suddenly loses her fortune and is forced to move in with an aunt she’s never even met, in the tiny town of Red Bank, South Dakota, a place so small that it doesn’t even have a traffic light.

Now June has to live on a farm with grouchy Aunt Bridget, who sees her best friend as potential bacon! Then one day, June finds a mysterious Penny Book that her mother used to keep. She is instantly intrigued by what her mother called the Big One, the rarest and most valuable of all pennies. Finding it could be June’s ticket back to New York and her old life. But the only guide June and Indigo have is a cryptic list her mom left behind.

To decode the list and find the Big One, June and Indigo enlist the help of some new friends in Red Bank and turn the town upside down in their search. But the most surprising mystery of all may be what brought June to Red Bank in the first place—and what is most valuable to her in the end.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Swells with the openhearted fearlessness and perpetual confusion of adolescence.” Publishers Weekly on Capture the Flag

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Rebecca Chace

Author Bio: Rebecca Chace

Rebecca Chace is an author who has previously written for adults. Her books include a memoir, Chautauqua Summer (a New York Times Notable Book), and two novels: Leaving Rock Harbor (a New York Times Editors’ Choice) and Capture the Flag. She is also the author of plays and screenplays and has written for the New York Times Magazine, the New York Times Sunday Book Review, the Huffington Post, and other publications, and has contributed to NPR’s All Things Considered. She is director of creative writing at Fairleigh Dickinson University and lives in Brooklyn.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Humor
Runtime: 5.54
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English