Little Wrecks by Meredith Miller audiobook

Little Wrecks

By Meredith Miller
Read by Khristine Hvam

HarperFestival, HarperCollins 9780062474254
8.56 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.99

    Special Price $22.74

    ISBN: 9781538418086

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781538418109

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

In this haunting and explosive debut, Meredith Miller explores the truth behind three girls on the cusp of adulthood, and all the shocking realizations that come under the guise of growing up. Perfect for fans of I’ll Give You the Sun and Girl in Pieces. Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are different from everyone else. They can see beneath the seemingly perfect, cookie-cutter exterior of their small town of Highbone, Long Island. They know that below the surface, each house is filled with secrets, indifference, and violence. These girls refuse to become willing participants of these fake lives. Instead, they are determined to fight every condescending comment, every unwelcome touch, and every lie they’ve been told. When the opportunity to commit the perfect crime appears, the girls finally start to see their way out of Highbone. But for the first time, Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are keeping secrets from each other. As they drift apart, the weight of reality starts to set in. These girls can’t save each other. They might not even be able to save themselves.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

In this haunting and explosive debut, Meredith Miller explores the truth behind three girls on the cusp of adulthood, and all the shocking realizations that come under the guise of growing up. Perfect for fans of I’ll Give You the Sun and Girl in Pieces.

Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are different from everyone else. They can see beneath the seemingly perfect, cookie-cutter exterior of their small town of Highbone, Long Island. They know that below the surface, each house is filled with secrets, indifference, and violence.

These girls refuse to become willing participants of these fake lives. Instead, they are determined to fight every condescending comment, every unwelcome touch, and every lie they’ve been told.

When the opportunity to commit the perfect crime appears, the girls finally start to see their way out of Highbone. But for the first time, Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are keeping secrets from each other. As they drift apart, the weight of reality starts to set in. These girls can’t save each other. They might not even be able to save themselves.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Readers who adore lyrical, character-driven fiction with a gritty edge will find plenty to love here.” Booklist
“Darkly thought-provoking reflections on modern gender politics.” Kirkus Reviews
“Darkly atmospheric and brutally honest, Little Wrecks depicts girls becoming women in a society that devalues both.” Mindy McGinnis, author of Female of the Species

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Meredith Miller

Author Bio: Meredith Miller

Meredith Miller grew up in a large, unruly family on Long Island, New York and now lives in the UK. She is a published short story writer and literary critic with a great love for big nineteenth-century novels and for the sea. Little Wrecks is her first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.56
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English