Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend audiobook

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

By Jessica Townsend
Read by Gemma Whelan

Little, Brown Young Readers, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 9780316508889

The Nevermoor Series: Book 1

11.02 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $30.00

    Special Price $24.00

    ISBN: 9781478923428

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

An instant New York Times bestseller! "A Harry Potter-esque adventure." --Time Magazine A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks--and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday. But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor. It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart--an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests--or she'll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate. Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Winner of the Australian Book Industry Award for Book of the Year and Book of the Year for Young Readers

Winner of the 2017 Aurealis Award for Best Children's Fiction

Winner of the Waterstone’s Children’s Book Prize in Young Fiction

A Time Magazine Book of the Year for Children

A #1 Amazon Best Book of the Year for Children

A Chicago Tribune Book of the Year for Children

A School Library Journal Top Pick for Fall Fantasy Tales

#1 Kids' Indie Next List Pick

An instant New York Times bestseller!
"A Harry Potter-esque adventure." --Time Magazine


A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination
Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks--and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.


But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.


It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart--an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests--or she'll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.


Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

* "Readers will leap into this captivating world brimming with witty characters and unforgettable adventures. A perfect fit for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. School Library Connection, starred review
* "Readers, like Morrigan herself, will feel at home in this evocative novel where magic and confidence go hand in hand. An excellent and exciting work. School Library Journal, starred review
* "[A] spellbinding debut...Morrigan is a captivating heroine, filled with moxie and wit.... Whimsical worldbuilding, humorous dialogue, and colorful supporting characters compliment an adventurous, magic-filled plot that champions bravery, self-confidence, and hope. Publishers Weekly, starred review
Townsend's debut novel is a tour de force of fantastical invention, revealing original conceits with each page-turn. The Horn Book
Townsend knows how to keep the pages turning in this fast-paced story. Booklist
Whimsical and captivating....For fans of the Harry Potter and Divergent series. South Coast Today
Exciting, whimsical, and colorful, this first book in a planned series will be a favorite with readers who love fantasy and adventure. A Mighty Girl
"The magical elements are well-written and clever...but the core of this novel lies in Morrigan's realization of her own value, of being a person worth attention and affection. A dark, mystical, and emotional look at a girl who has a complex relationship with magic in a sophisticated and lushly described world. The Bulletin
"Jessica Townsend's Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow is more than just a spectacular debut. Exciting, charming, and wonderfully imagined, it's the sort of delightful, grand adventure destined to be many a reader's favorite book. Trenton Lee Stewart, New York Times bestselling author of The Mysterious Benedict Society series and The Secret Keepers
Imaginative. The Washington Post
“Narrator Gemma Whelan provides listeners with an immersive experience of the wondrous world of Nevermoor…Whelan’s clear English accent is perfect for the otherworldly nature of both worlds, Jackalfax and Nevermoor, as well as the characters. Younger characters’ voices have not yet dropped, and each voice has a unique characteristic, such as Noelle’s prideful, sarcastic, and slightly nasal tones or Fenestra the Magnificat’s confident boredom. Listeners will be left eagerly awaiting the next installment. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
Poignant.... A Harry Potter-esque adventure. Time Magazine
“Exciting, charming, and wonderfully imagined, it’s the sort of delightful, grand adventure destined to be many a reader’s favorite book.” Trenton Lee Stewart, New York Times bestselling author
“A Harry Potter-esque adventure.” Time magazine
“Readers, like Morrigan herself, will feel at home in this evocative novel where magic and confidence go hand in hand. An excellent and exciting work.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Morrigan is a captivating heroine, filled with moxie and wit… Whimsical world-building, humorous dialogue, and colorful supporting characters compliment an adventurous, magic-filled plot that champions bravery, self-confidence, and hope.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A tour de force of fantastical invention, revealing original conceits with each page-turn.” Horn Book
“Townsend knows how to keep the pages turning in this fast-paced story.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jessica Townsend

Author Bio: Jessica Townsend

Jessica Townsend lives on the Sunshine Coast in Australia but has lived on and off in London for a few years. She was a copywriter for eight years and also the editor of a children’s wildlife magazine.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Runtime: 11.02
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English