Nudge by Richard H. Thaler audiobook

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

By Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein
Read by Lloyd James

Gildan Media 9781596592544
11.44 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $44.99

    Special Price $29.24

    ISBN: 9798200565931

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9798200565948

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

From the winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and Daniel Kahneman's Thinking Fast and Slow. Every day we make choices—about what to buy or eat, about financial investments or our children's health and education, even about the causes we champion or the planet itself. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. Nudge is about how we make these choices and how we can make better ones. Using dozens of eye-opening examples and drawing on decades of behavioral science research, Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and Harvard Law School professor Cass R. Sunstein show that no choice is ever presented to us in a neutral way, and that we are all susceptible to biases that can lead us to make bad decisions. But by knowing how people think, we can use sensible "choice architecture" to nudge people toward the best decisions for ourselves, our families, and our society, without restricting our freedom of choice.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

The Economist Magazine Books of the Year selection

Financial Times Books of the Year selection

From the winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell's Blink and Daniel Kahneman's Thinking Fast and Slow.

Every day we make choices—about what to buy or eat, about financial investments or our children's health and education, even about the causes we champion or the planet itself. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. Nudge is about how we make these choices and how we can make better ones. Using dozens of eye-opening examples and drawing on decades of behavioral science research, Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and Harvard Law School professor Cass R. Sunstein show that no choice is ever presented to us in a neutral way, and that we are all susceptible to biases that can lead us to make bad decisions. But by knowing how people think, we can use sensible "choice architecture" to nudge people toward the best decisions for ourselves, our families, and our society, without restricting our freedom of choice.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“I love this book. It fundamentally changes the way I think about the world. Just as surprising, it is fun, drawing on examples as far afield as urinals, 401(k) plans, organ donations, and marriage. Academics aren’t supposed to be able to write this well.” Steven Levitt, New York Times bestselling author
“In this utterly brilliant book, Thaler and Sunstein teach us how to steer people toward better health, sounder investments, and cleaner environments without depriving them of their inalienable right to make a mess of things if they want to.” Daniel Gilbert, New York Times bestselling author
“Superb insights.” Financial Times
“An engaging and insightful tour through the evidence that most human beings don’t make decisions in the way often characterized (some would say caricatured) in elementary economics textbooks, along with a rich array of suggestions for enabling many of us to make better choices.” New York Times
“A manifesto for using the recent behavioral research to help people, as well as government agencies, companies, and charities, make better decisions.” New York Times Magazine
"[This] research-based analysis full of practical solutions to real-life problems is strongly recommended for public libraries.” Library Journal
“It is a must-read for anyone who wants to see both our minds and our society working better. It will improve your decisions and it will make the world a better place.”  Daniel Kahneman, Princeton University, Nobel Laureate in Economics
“This is an engaging, informative, and thoroughly delightful book. Thaler and Sunstein provide important lessons for structuring social policies so that people still have complete choice over their own actions, but are gently nudged to do what is in their own best interests. Well done.”  Don Norman, Northwestern University, Author of The Design of Everyday Things and The Design of Future Things
”This book is terrific. It will change the way you think, not only about the world around you and some of its bigger problems, but also about yourself.”  Michael Lewis, author of The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game and Liars Poker

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Richard H. Thaler

Author Bio: Richard H. Thaler

Richard H. Thaler, winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize for Economics, is an American economist and the Ralph and Dorothy Keller Distinguished Service Professor of behavioral science and economics at the University of Chicago’s Booth School of Business. He is considered a pioneer in the fields of behavioral economics and finance. He is the author of numerous articles and books, including Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness; The Winner’s Curse; Quasi Rational Economics; and Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioral Economics.

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Cass R. Sunstein

Author Bio: Cass R. Sunstein

Cass Sunstein is the Robert Walmsley University Professor at Harvard and the founder and director of the university’s program on behavioral economics and public policy. He is a columnist for the website Bloomberg View, a frequent congressional witness, and an informal advisor to many public officials at all levels of government. He has served as administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs, as a member of the President’s Review Group on Intelligence and Communications Technologies, and as an attorney-advisor in the Department of Justice. His many books include the bestseller Nudge, with Richard H. Thaler; Simpler: The Future of Government; and Republic.com.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Runtime: 11.44
Audience: Adult
Language: English