One Half from the East by Nadia Hashimi audiobook

One Half from the East

By Nadia Hashimi
Read by Ariana Delawari

HarperCollins 9780062421906
5.91 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $19.49

    ISBN: 9781441709301

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781441709387

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy. Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure. Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.

Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.

Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.

Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Ariana Delawari’s guileless tone embodies young, vulnerable Obayda…Reading without an accent in a childlike pitch, yet giving authentic voice to Afghani names and phrases, Delawari makes Obayda’s story accessible to any young listener…Strong writing is paired with an appropriately youthful narration, offering cultural awareness and hope for the future. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Told in clear, vivid prose that combines detailed descriptions of daily life with a good dose of adventure…this is an excellent title that will offer students a window into life in Afghanistan and open interesting, age-appropriate conversations about gender expectations and roles in different countries.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“The first-person point of view in this novel will be impactful and meaningful to readers…with insightful information about Islamic culture and particularly the Afghani culture, as it relates to girls.” VOYA
“Like its young protagonist, One Half from the East dances between hope and hard realities. Obayda’s struggle to define herself in a world that is all too eager to do the job for her is captivating.” Cassie Beasley, author of Circus Mirandus
“Well-told through appealing characters, this tale sheds light from a unique cultural perspective on the link between vastly different, rigidly enforced roles for boys and girls and gender-identity issues.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nadia Hashimi

Author Bio: Nadia Hashimi

Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. In 2002, she made her first trip to Afghanistan with her parents. She is a pediatrician and the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle-grade novels One Half from the East and The Sky at Our Feet

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.91
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English