Overkill by Ted Bell audiobook

Overkill: An Alex Hawke Novel

By Ted Bell
Read by John Shea

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062684516

The Alex Hawke Series: Book 10

15.59 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $44.99

    Special Price $29.24

    ISBN: 9781538519028

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781538519035

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

Putting it all on the line to rescue his kidnapped son pits counterspy Alex Hawke against Russian President Vladimir Putin in this action-packed thriller from New York Times bestselling author Ted Bell. On a ski vacation in the Swiss Alps high above St. Moritz, Alex Hawke and his young son, Alexei, are thrust into danger when the tram carrying them to the top of the mountain bursts into flame, separating the two. Before he can reach Alexei, the boy is snatched from the burning cable car by unknown assailants in a helicopter. Meanwhile, high above the skies of France, Vladimir Putin is aboard his presidential jet after escaping a bloodless coup in the Kremlin. When two flight attendants collapse and slip into unconsciousness, the Russian leader realizes the danger isn’t over. Killing the pilots, he grabs a parachute, steps out of the plane . . . and disappears. Hawke has led his share of dangerous assignments, but none with stakes this high. To save his son, he summons his trusted colleagues, Chief Inspector of Scotland Yard Ambrose Congreve, former U.S. Navy SEAL Stokley Jones, Jr., and recruits a crack Hostage Rescue Team—a group of elite soldiers of fortune known as "Thunder & Lighting." Before they can devise a rescue plan, Hawke must figure out who took his boy—and why. An operative who has fought antagonists around the globe, Hawke has made many enemies; one in particular may hold the key to finding Alexei before it’s too late. But an unexpected threat complicates their mission. Making his way to "Falcon’s Lair," the former Nazi complex created for Hitler, Putin is amassing an impressive armory that he intends to use for his triumphant return to Moscow. Only one man can smash the Russian president’s plan for domination—a master counterspy who will cross every line to save his son . . . and maybe save the world itself in the bargain.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Putting it all on the line to rescue his kidnapped son pits counterspy Alex Hawke against Russian President Vladimir Putin in this action-packed thriller from New York Times bestselling author Ted Bell.

On a ski vacation in the Swiss Alps high above St. Moritz, Alex Hawke and his young son, Alexei, are thrust into danger when the tram carrying them to the top of the mountain bursts into flame, separating the two. Before he can reach Alexei, the boy is snatched from the burning cable car by unknown assailants in a helicopter.

Meanwhile, high above the skies of France, Vladimir Putin is aboard his presidential jet after escaping a bloodless coup in the Kremlin. When two flight attendants collapse and slip into unconsciousness, the Russian leader realizes the danger isn’t over. Killing the pilots, he grabs a parachute, steps out of the plane . . . and disappears.

Hawke has led his share of dangerous assignments, but none with stakes this high. To save his son, he summons his trusted colleagues, Chief Inspector of Scotland Yard Ambrose Congreve, former U.S. Navy SEAL Stokley Jones, Jr., and recruits a crack Hostage Rescue Team—a group of elite soldiers of fortune known as "Thunder & Lighting." Before they can devise a rescue plan, Hawke must figure out who took his boy—and why. An operative who has fought antagonists around the globe, Hawke has made many enemies; one in particular may hold the key to finding Alexei before it’s too late.

But an unexpected threat complicates their mission. Making his way to "Falcon’s Lair," the former Nazi complex created for Hitler, Putin is amassing an impressive armory that he intends to use for his triumphant return to Moscow.

Only one man can smash the Russian president’s plan for domination—a master counterspy who will cross every line to save his son . . . and maybe save the world itself in the bargain.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Tightly plotted and energetically written…Overkill is a wonderfully apt title, not for the writing but for the mind-set of both hero and villain. A propulsive, high-concept thriller.” Booklist
“A hero to rival Bond by an author to rival Cussler.” Bookseller (UK)
“A secret agent who takes you into the danger zone with a ballsy wit that had me hooked.” Vince Flynn, author of American Assassin, praise for the author
“Just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian, and Fleming.” Kirkus Reviews, praise for the author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ted Bell

Author Bio: Ted Bell

Ted Bell is an American author of suspense and young adult adventure novels. He is best known for his New York Times bestselling series of spy thriller novels featuring the character Alex Hawke. He lives and works in Palm Beach, Florida, and Aspen, Colorado.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 15.59
Audience: Adult
Language: English