Prairie Fever by Michael Parker audiobook

Prairie Fever

By Michael Parker
Read by Gabra Zackman

Highbridge Audio, HighBridge
8.90 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.99

    Special Price $27.99

    ISBN: 9781684570188

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Set in the hardscrabble landscape of early 1900s Oklahoma, but timeless in its sensibility, Prairie Fever traces the dynamic between two sisters: the pragmatic Lorena and the chimerical Elise. Their connection to each other supersedes all else, until the arrival of a schoolteacher sunders the sisters' relationship as they both begin to fall for him. With poetic intensity and the deadpan humor of Paulette Jiles and Charles Portis, Parker reminds us of how our choices are often driven by our passions. Expansive and intimate, Prairie Fever tells the story of characters tested as much by life on the prairie as they are by their own churning hearts.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Longlisted for the 2020 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

Longlisted for the 2019 Reading the West Book Award

Set in the hardscrabble landscape of early 1900s Oklahoma, but timeless in its sensibility, Prairie Fever traces the dynamic between two sisters: the pragmatic Lorena and the chimerical Elise. Their connection to each other supersedes all else, until the arrival of a schoolteacher sunders the sisters' relationship as they both begin to fall for him. With poetic intensity and the deadpan humor of Paulette Jiles and Charles Portis, Parker reminds us of how our choices are often driven by our passions. Expansive and intimate, Prairie Fever tells the story of characters tested as much by life on the prairie as they are by their own churning hearts.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Parker’s gift for language transcends its 1900s setting, finds its peak expression in the sisters’ letters, as incisive and deadpan as Charles Portis’s True Grit." Vogue
“Full of humor as well as anguish, suggesting that some bonds are strong enough to surpass even the most painful betrayal.” Manhattan Book Review
“Parker’s chimerical slipstream of a novel asks, Is it better to hew to that which is or to see the world as you wish? Readers will surely be pulled deep in.” Booklist (starred review)
“In the tradition of Katherine Anne Porter, Parker’s exceptional tale explores the power and strength of kinship on the harsh American frontier.” Publishers Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Michael Parker

Author Bio: Michael Parker

Michael Parker is the author of six novels and three collections of stories. His short fiction and nonfiction have appeared in the Washington Post, the New York Times Magazine, the Oxford American, Runner’s World, Men’s Journal, and other publications. His work has been anthologized in The O. Henry Prize Stories and The Pushcart Prize. He is the Nicholas and Nancy Vacc Distinguished Professor in the MFA writing program at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He lives in Saxapahaw, North Carolina, and Austin, Texas.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.90
Audience: Adult
Language: English