Pride, Prejudice, and Poison by Elizabeth Blake audiobook

Pride, Prejudice, and Poison: A Jane Austen Society Mystery

By Elizabeth Blake
Read by Justine Eyre

Blackstone Publishing 9781683315742

The Jane Austen Society Mysteries: Book 1

8.39 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781094007267

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781094007274

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

Perfect for fans of Laura Levine and Stephanie Barron, Elizabeth Blake’s Jane Austen Society mystery debut is a mirthfully morbid merger of manners and murder. In this Austen-tatious debut, antiquarian bookstore proprietor Erin Coleridge uses her sense and sensibility to deduce who killed the president of the local Jane Austen Society. Erin Coleridge’s used bookstore in Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire, England, is a meeting place for the villagers and, in particular, for the local Jane Austen Society. At the Society’s monthly meeting, matters come to a head between the old guard and its young turks. After the meeting breaks for tea, persuasion gives way to murder―with extreme prejudice―when president Sylvia Pemberthy falls dead to the floor. Poisoned? Presumably … but by whom? And was Sylvia the only target? Handsome―but shy―Detective Inspector Peter Hemming and charismatic Sergeant Rashid Jarral arrive at the scene. The long suspect list includes Sylvia’s lover Kurt Becker and his tightly wound wife Suzanne. Or, perhaps, the killer was Sylvia’s own cuckolded husband, Jerome. Among the many Society members who may have had her in their sights is dashing Jonathan Alder, who was heard having a royal battle of words with the late president the night before. Then, when Jonathan Alder narrowly avoids becoming the next victim, Farnsworth (the town’s “cat lady”) persuades a seriously time-crunched Erin to help DI Hemming. But the killer is more devious than anyone imagines.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Laura Levine and Stephanie Barron, Elizabeth Blake’s Jane Austen Society mystery debut is a mirthfully morbid merger of manners and murder.

In this Austen-tatious debut, antiquarian bookstore proprietor Erin Coleridge uses her sense and sensibility to deduce who killed the president of the local Jane Austen Society.

Erin Coleridge’s used bookstore in Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire, England, is a meeting place for the villagers and, in particular, for the local Jane Austen Society. At the Society’s monthly meeting, matters come to a head between the old guard and its young turks. After the meeting breaks for tea, persuasion gives way to murder―with extreme prejudice―when president Sylvia Pemberthy falls dead to the floor. Poisoned? Presumably … but by whom? And was Sylvia the only target?

Handsome―but shy―Detective Inspector Peter Hemming and charismatic Sergeant Rashid Jarral arrive at the scene. The long suspect list includes Sylvia’s lover Kurt Becker and his tightly wound wife Suzanne. Or, perhaps, the killer was Sylvia’s own cuckolded husband, Jerome. Among the many Society members who may have had her in their sights is dashing Jonathan Alder, who was heard having a royal battle of words with the late president the night before.

Then, when Jonathan Alder narrowly avoids becoming the next victim, Farnsworth (the town’s “cat lady”) persuades a seriously time-crunched Erin to help DI Hemming. But the killer is more devious than anyone imagines.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The author, who is also a poet, includes lyrical descriptions of the countryside. For Austen fans, the liberal scattering of Austen quotes and references will delight, but they do not detract from the flow. This is the first in a new series and the first by Carole Lawrence writing under a new pseudonym.” Booklist
“Utterly charming, and as cozy as a cup of tea by a crackling fire. A must read for Jane Austen fans―and anybody else who enjoys a witty, well-crafted mystery. I loved it!” Laura Levine, author of the Jaine Austen mysteries

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elizabeth Blake

Author Bio: Elizabeth Blake

Elizabeth Blake has written ten published novels, six novellas, and a dozen or so short stories and poems under other pseudonyms. Many of her works appear in translation internationally. Winner of both the Euphoria Poetry Competition and the Eve of St. Agnes Poetry Award, she is a two time Pushcart Poetry Prize nominee and First Prize winner of the Maxim Mazumdar Playwriting Competition, the Chronogram Literary Fiction Prize, Jerry Jazz Musician Short Fiction Award, and the Jean Paiva Memorial Fiction Award. She was a finalist in the McClaren, MSU, and Henrico Playwriting Competitions. She is a Hawthornden Fellow and Writer in Residence at Bydcliffe, Lacawac, and Karunā Colonies.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 8.39
Audience: Adult
Language: English