Santa Fe Mourning by Amanda Allen audiobook

Santa Fe Mourning: A Santa Fe Revival Mystery

By Amanda Allen
Read by Amy McFadden

Blackstone Publishing 9781683315476

The Santa Fe Revival Mysteries: Book 1

8.08 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781538557259

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781538557266

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Brilliant new heroine Maddie Vaughn-Alwin makes her daring debut, discovering that speakeasies conceal more than just liquor. Madeline Vaughn-Alwin’s picture-perfect life fades to gray when her childhood sweetheart perishes in the Great War. The aspiring painter leaves her wealthy New York family behind to travel across the country and start over in California. But when Maddie reaches Santa Fe, New Mexico, she halts her westward journey, certain she has found her new home amid the striking scenery and inspiring artistic community. To help out around her new adobe cottage, Maddie hires the Anayas, a local Native American family. But when the father is found murdered outside a speakeasy, the police brush off the death as just another inebriated man finding trouble. Shocked and distraught, Maddie takes on the case herself. But as she investigates, she learns that the Anayas’ home life was not what it seemed. And just as she’s starting to see the bigger picture, the autopsy reveals that her suspects’ alibis don’t hold up. Santa Fe Mourning, Amanda Allen’s richly evocative first Santa Fe Revival mystery, is perfect for fans of Victoria Thompson and Rhys Bowen.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Brilliant new heroine Maddie Vaughn-Alwin makes her daring debut, discovering that speakeasies conceal more than just liquor.

Madeline Vaughn-Alwin’s picture-perfect life fades to gray when her childhood sweetheart perishes in the Great War. The aspiring painter leaves her wealthy New York family behind to travel across the country and start over in California. But when Maddie reaches Santa Fe, New Mexico, she halts her westward journey, certain she has found her new home amid the striking scenery and inspiring artistic community.

To help out around her new adobe cottage, Maddie hires the Anayas, a local Native American family. But when the father is found murdered outside a speakeasy, the police brush off the death as just another inebriated man finding trouble. Shocked and distraught, Maddie takes on the case herself. But as she investigates, she learns that the Anayas’ home life was not what it seemed. And just as she’s starting to see the bigger picture, the autopsy reveals that her suspects’ alibis don’t hold up.

Santa Fe Mourning, Amanda Allen’s richly evocative first Santa Fe Revival mystery, is perfect for fans of Victoria Thompson and Rhys Bowen.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A promising start to a new series.” Historical Novels Review
“[An] auspicious series launch…[As] Maddie turns amateur sleuth…detecting takes her all over town, from poor neighborhoods to posh nightclubs and even the largely forgotten underground tunnels linking plaza stores. Along the way, she meets such real-life locals as Olive Rush, a patron of Native American artists, and railroad magnate Frank Springer. Readers will want to see more of the appealing Maddie, whose next adventure is hinted at in the epilogue.” Publishers Weekly
“Spoiled NY Flapper meets the Wild West—what could be more delightful?” Rhys Bowen, author of the Royal Spyness and Molly Murphy mysteries
A mystery with the tang of bootleg hooch and the sharp bite of poison.” Kate Parker, author of the Deadly Series and the Victorian Bookshop mysteries

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Amanda Allen

Author Bio: Amanda Allen

Amanda Allen is the pseudonym for an award-winning, multipublished author. A history junkie since she first read Jane Eyre at age ten, she loves spending her days lost in other time periods. When not reading or writing, she loves yoga, dance classes, watching too much HGTV, and online shoe shopping. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime, and she lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico, with her lovely husband, a spoiled dog, and bossy cat.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 8.08
Audience: Adult
Language: English