The Bone Seeker by M. J. McGrath audiobook

The Bone Seeker

By M. J. McGrath
Read by Kate Reading

Blackstone Publishing 9780670785803

The Edie Kiglatuk Mysteries: Book 3

12.58 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781483001487

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781483001470

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

The intrepid Edie Kiglatuk discovers one of her female students dead in a toxic Arctic lake. In the third novel in this highly praised mystery series that will appeal to fans of The Killing, Top of the Lake, and The Bridge, Edie Kiglatuk is working as a summer school teacher in the Canadian Arctic. When one of her female students is found dead in nearby Lake Turngaluk, Edie enlists the help of Sergeant Derek Palliser to pursue the case, promising the girl's Inuit family that they will uncover the truth. Meanwhile, lawyer Sonia Gutierrez investigates the toxicity of the lake and suspects that there might be a larger conspiracy involved. As the three clamber over rocky terrain under twenty-four-hour daylight, they start to unearth secrets long frozen over—risking their own lives in the process. With stunning prose, M. J. McGrath delivers another thrill ride through a hauntingly beautiful landscape.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Longlisted for the 2015 CWA Gold Dagger Award

The intrepid Edie Kiglatuk discovers one of her female students dead in a toxic Arctic lake.

In the third novel in this highly praised mystery series that will appeal to fans of The Killing, Top of the Lake, and The Bridge, Edie Kiglatuk is working as a summer school teacher in the Canadian Arctic. When one of her female students is found dead in nearby Lake Turngaluk, Edie enlists the help of Sergeant Derek Palliser to pursue the case, promising the girl's Inuit family that they will uncover the truth. Meanwhile, lawyer Sonia Gutierrez investigates the toxicity of the lake and suspects that there might be a larger conspiracy involved. As the three clamber over rocky terrain under twenty-four-hour daylight, they start to unearth secrets long frozen over—risking their own lives in the process.

With stunning prose, M. J. McGrath delivers another thrill ride through a hauntingly beautiful landscape.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The third in the acclaimed Edie Kiglatuk series, which stars Kiglatuk, a teacher, half Inuit, half outsider, who solves mysteries with a canny blend of psychological and cultural knowledge…Filled with cultural tensions, gorgeous Arctic spring scenery, and pulsing suspense.” Booklist (starred review)
“The murder of a teenager rocks a remote settlement in Canada’s high Arctic…The chills McGrath’s third Edie entry sends down your spine will rival those brought on by any Nunavut winter.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“A summer teaching job takes Edie Kiglatuk to Kuujuaq, a Canadian Arctic village, in McGrath’s unsettling third mystery featuring the Arctic guide…McGrath effectively evokes the spare Arctic landscape and brings life to the people who have inhabited it for generations.” Publishers Weekly
“Kate Reading has a rich and compelling voice…Reading can draw listeners into almost any story, and she does a particularly good job here. She’s taken the time to master the Inuit phrases and names that pepper McGrath’s narrative. Most important, she convincingly conveys Edie’s thoughts and the sorrows and hopes of an Arctic people buffeted by the demands of the world ‘in the south.’” AudioFile
“The setting, Ellesmere Island in the Canadian Arctic, is the real star here, providing a detailed glimpse into a harsh arctic summer and the tensions between the native Inuits and the qalunaats from the south. McGrath uses the remoteness of the landscape to great effect, creating several suspenseful set pieces out of characters' navigation of the unforgiving terrain and their inability just to leave town quickly…For fans of Dana Stabenow’s Kate Shugak series as well as readers who enjoy writers such as George Pelecanos and Giles Blunt, who create a strong sense of place in their mysteries.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: M. J. McGrath

Author Bio: M. J. McGrath

M. J. McGrath is an award-winning journalist and the author of several books, including The Long Exile: A Tale of Inuit Betrayal and the novels The Boy in the Snow and White Heat, which was longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime and mystery novel of the year. She currently lives in London.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 12.58
Audience: Adult
Language: English