The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick audiobook

The Forbidden Garden: A Novel

By Ellen Herrick
Read by Fiona Hardingham

HarperAudio 9780062499950
8.85 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.99

    Special Price $22.74

    ISBN: 9781538411841

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781538411865

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life. Every garden is a story, waiting to be told… At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate. Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried—and failed—to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house’s history—especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls—and increasingly drawn to Stella’s enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden’s destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets…

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story, waiting to be told…

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried—and failed—to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house’s history—especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls—and increasingly drawn to Stella’s enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden’s destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets…

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Readers who loved Alice Hoffman’s Practical Magic and Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife are in for a wonderful treat with Ellen Herrick’s lovely new novel.” M. J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author
“Lyrical and haunting, Ellen Herrick’s prose once again transports us to a richly imagined world, this time an English country estate with its mysterious and cursed Shakespeare Garden…Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love.” Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ellen Herrick

Author Bio: Ellen Herrick

Ellen Herrick was director of publicity at Warner Books (before it became Grand Central), making bestsellers out of many titles in many genres. She splits her time between Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a small town on Cape Cod very much like Granite Point.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 8.85
Audience: Adult
Language: English