The Girl in the Castle by Santa Montefiore audiobook

The Girl in the Castle: A Novel

By Santa Montefiore
Read by Genevieve Swallow

HarperAudio, William Morrow, HarperCollins

The Deverill Chronicles: Book 1

17.43 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $55.99

    Special Price $36.39

    ISBN: 9781441748614

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $55.99

    Special Price $36.39

    ISBN: 9781441738158

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Ireland. The early twentieth century. Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war. Hear their story — and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore."  Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland — the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love... Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight — and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland — perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. Also published as The Irish Girl available in paperback.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Ireland. The early twentieth century.

Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.

Hear their story — and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." 

Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland — the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love...

Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.

As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight — and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.

A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland — perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON.

Also published as The Irish Girl available in paperback.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The prolific Montefiore presents the first volume of a trilogy guaranteed to hit the bestseller list…[A] riveting saga…Secrets abound, friendships are fractured, and life-altering decisions are made in a delicious read that leaves the reader hungry and eagerly awaiting the next course.” Booklist (starred review)
“A novel that compels readers with its quick pace and multidimensional characters whose loves and loyalties are continually tested. Montefiore beautifully evokes the atmosphere of the country…The novel is at times tender, yet beautifully sad, and then tense and gripping, leaving much for readers to wonder about at the end.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Santa Montefiore

Author Bio: Santa Montefiore

Santa Montefiore was born in England. She went to Sherborne School for Girls in Dorset and read Spanish and Italian at Exeter University. She has written more than a dozen bestselling novels which have sold well over two million copies worldwide. She lives with her husband, the historian and broadcaster Simon Sebag Montefiore, and their two children in London.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 17.43
Audience: Adult
Language: English