The Only Girl in the World by Maude Julien audiobook

The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

By Maude Julien , with Ursula Gauthier
Translated by Adriana Hunter
Read by Elisabeth Rodgers

Little, Brown & Company, Hachette Book Group 9780316466622
7.67 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $35.00

    Special Price $22.75

    ISBN: 9781549114120

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien’s parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor—raising her in isolation, tyrannizing her childhood, and subjecting her to endless drills designed to “eliminate weakness.” Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long: her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved. She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment. But Maude’s parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family’s paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity. By turns horrifying and magical, The Only Girl in the World is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

A BookRiot Pick of Amazing Audiobook Memoirs

A New York Times Book Review Pick of New Books in Paperback

A Vanity Fair Hot Type selection for December 2017

An Amazon Best Book of the Month

A BookPage Book of the Day

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul.

Maude Julien’s parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor—raising her in isolation, tyrannizing her childhood, and subjecting her to endless drills designed to “eliminate weakness.” Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long: her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved. She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment.

But Maude’s parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family’s paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity.

By turns horrifying and magical, The Only Girl in the World is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A living testimony of resilience…An account as gripping as it is inspiring.” Elle
“In the hierarchy of traumatic memoir, Maude Julien has something to write home about…But it is also proof that love is in our nature regardless of our nurture.” Vanity Fair
“The year’s most harrowing memoir…That The Only Girl in the World exists as it does is a most persuasive argument for Julien’s remarkable willpower.” Entertainment Weekly
“Fascinating, mystifying, and distressing.” New York Times
“Maude Julien has every reason to be a terrible human being…Had it not been for her love of animals, literature, and the intervention of an unlikely savior, Maude’s tenuous grasp on sanity would very likely have been lost…It is a testament to the power of the human spirit to overcome extraordinary obstacles and proof that love, indeed, wins.” Amazon.com
“This story is never maudlin—it is so absorbing that you have to remind yourself to breathe from time to time.” Le Point (Paris)
“A disturbing, engrossing memoir…[and] a startling testament of survival.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Maude Julien

Author Bio: Maude Julien

Maude Julien is a therapist specializing in manipulation and psychological control. For the last ten years she has been doing anthropological research on the consequences of acculturation among Australian aborigines. A frequent contributor to radio and television, she has helped hundreds of patients since 1995.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 7.67
Audience: Adult
Language: English