The Perfect Fraud by Ellen LaCorte audiobook

The Perfect Fraud: A Novel

By Ellen LaCorte
Read by Karissa Vacker  and Elizabeth Godley

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062906076
9.60 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781982662394

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781982662400

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

In this propulsive debut thriller, two women with deep secrets are thrown together by an unexpected meeting that plunges both their lives into chaos. But it’s a sick little girl whose fate hangs in the balance. Motherhood is tough. But then, so is daughterhood. When we first meet Claire, she’s living in Sedona, Arizona with her boyfriend Cal and ducking calls from her mother.  Her mom is a world class psychic on the East Coast and Claire doesn’t want her to discover the truth. Claire works in the family business and calls herself a psychic, but she doesn’t really have “the gift” and hasn’t for a long time. She’s a fraud. Meanwhile, on the other side of the country, Rena, a young mother, has family issues of her own. She’s divorced and her four-year-old daughter, Stephanie, suffers from mysterious, seemingly incurable stomach problems. No matter how many specialists Rena drags her to, no matter how many mommy-blog posts she makes about her child’s health issues, trying to get help and support from her online community, Stephanie only gets sicker. When Claire and Rena meet by chance on an airplane, their carefully constructed lives begin to explode.  Can these two women help each other and can they help Stephanie before it’s too late?

Learn More

Summary

Summary

In this propulsive debut thriller, two women with deep secrets are thrown together by an unexpected meeting that plunges both their lives into chaos. But it’s a sick little girl whose fate hangs in the balance.

Motherhood is tough. But then, so is daughterhood. When we first meet Claire, she’s living in Sedona, Arizona with her boyfriend Cal and ducking calls from her mother.  Her mom is a world class psychic on the East Coast and Claire doesn’t want her to discover the truth. Claire works in the family business and calls herself a psychic, but she doesn’t really have “the gift” and hasn’t for a long time. She’s a fraud.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the country, Rena, a young mother, has family issues of her own. She’s divorced and her four-year-old daughter, Stephanie, suffers from mysterious, seemingly incurable stomach problems. No matter how many specialists Rena drags her to, no matter how many mommy-blog posts she makes about her child’s health issues, trying to get help and support from her online community, Stephanie only gets sicker.

When Claire and Rena meet by chance on an airplane, their carefully constructed lives begin to explode.  Can these two women help each other and can they help Stephanie before it’s too late?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Be sure to set aside a full few hours because once you begin, you won’t be able to stop. The Perfect Fraud is exactly what a good book should be—a dazzling plot, unforgettable characters, emotional depth—all presented in a fresh new voice that is sure to make Ellen LaCorte a household name.” Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author
“Mysticism and medicine intersect with dramatic results in LaCorte’s accomplished page-turning debut…Those who like a dash of the supernatural in their thrillers will be well satisfied.” Publishers Weekly
“LaCorte’s debut novel combines a darkly twisted plot with excellent character building, and the eerily realistic setting nicely supports the haunting narrative. This is psychological suspense with a gut-clenching finale, perfect for readers of Gillian Flynn and Brandon Massey.” Booklist
“This is a dark, dark thriller, and the villain is absolute. But alternating voices allow for a more nuanced building of tension…LaCorte delves deeply into horrible things that humans do—and, as in life, not all evil is punished—but still offers hope and healing in the end.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Ellen LaCorte

Author Bio: Ellen LaCorte

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 9.60
Audience: Adult
Language: English