The Red Line by Walt Gragg audiobook

The Red Line

By Walt Gragg
Read by Peter Berkrot

Blackstone Publishing 9780425283455
17.53 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $39.95

    Special Price $25.97

    ISBN: 9781455136964

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $44.95

    Special Price $29.22

    ISBN: 9781455136971

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

WWIII explodes in this electrifying debut military thriller in the tradition of Red Storm Rising and The Third World War. “Delta-Two, I’ve got tanks through the wire! They’re everywhere!” World War III explodes in seconds when a resurgent Russian federation launches a deadly armored thrust into the heart of Germany. With a powerful blizzard providing cover, Russian tanks thunder down the autobahns while specially trained Spetsnaz teams strike at vulnerable command points. Standing against them are the woefully undermanned American forces. What they lack in numbers they make up for in superior weapons and training. But before the sun rises they are on the run across a smoking battlefield crowded with corpses. Any slim hope for victory rests with one unlikely hero. Army Staff Sergeant George O’Neill, a communications specialist, may be able to reestablish links that have been severed by hostile forces, but that will take time. While he works, it’s up to hundreds of individual American soldiers to hold back the enemy flood. There’s one thing that’s certain. The thin line between victory and defeat is also the red line between life and death.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the 2018 International Thriller Writers Award

WWIII explodes in this electrifying debut military thriller in the tradition of Red Storm Rising and The Third World War.

“Delta-Two, I’ve got tanks through the wire! They’re everywhere!”

World War III explodes in seconds when a resurgent Russian federation launches a deadly armored thrust into the heart of Germany. With a powerful blizzard providing cover, Russian tanks thunder down the autobahns while specially trained Spetsnaz teams strike at vulnerable command points.

Standing against them are the woefully undermanned American forces. What they lack in numbers they make up for in superior weapons and training. But before the sun rises they are on the run across a smoking battlefield crowded with corpses.

Any slim hope for victory rests with one unlikely hero. Army Staff Sergeant George O’Neill, a communications specialist, may be able to reestablish links that have been severed by hostile forces, but that will take time. While he works, it’s up to hundreds of individual American soldiers to hold back the enemy flood.

There’s one thing that’s certain. The thin line between victory and defeat is also the red line between life and death.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Peter Berkrot…helps the listener differentiate among the many soldiers and a handful of politicians. His accents are precise when voicing the few Russian officials in the production…and Berkrot keeps the tension high throughout.” Audiofile
“The best World War III epic I’ve read since Red Storm Rising.” Grant Blackwood, New York Times bestselling author
“Impeccably researched, riveting…Must reading for any military action fan. Nearly every page reeks of the smoke of battle and the stench of death.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“In Gragg’s intense and gripping debut thriller…this frightening and realistic scenario will be compared to Tom Clancy’s Red Storm Rising, as both titles deal with war and the horrors of the battlefield. The characters are more fully developed here…Difficult reading, not for the writing, which is stellar, but owing to the story’s timeliness and authenticity. Recommended for fans of military and futuristic thrillers." Library Journal (starred review)
“Seems eerily prescient in an edgy time.” Booklist
“You’re going to hold this book so tight you’ll leave thumbprints on the page.” Mark Leggatt, author of Names of the Dead

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Walt Gragg

Author Bio: Walt Gragg

Walt Gragg is an attorney and former state prosecutor. He is a Vietnam veteran, who served at United States European Headquarters in Germany, where the idea for The Red Line took shape. Being privy to the actual American plan for the conduct of the defense of Germany, and having participated in a number of war games while in Germany, gave Gragg the knowledge and experience to lend authenticity to many of the novel’s events.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/War & Military
Runtime: 17.53
Audience: Adult
Language: English