The Secret Sky by Atia Abawi audiobook

The Secret Sky: A Novel of Forbidden Love in Afghanistan

Recorded Books, Inc.
7.68 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $42.99

    Special Price $21.50

    ISBN: 9781664627123

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from NBC foreign news correspondent Atia Abawi Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan. Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come. Advanced Praise for THE SECRET SKY: "["The Secret Sky" is] a tale of the indomitable Afghan spirit of hope and love. Among the many novels set in Afghanistan for young people or for adults, "The Secret Sky" stands alone. Unputdownable. Unforgettable." -Trent Reedy, author of "Words in the Dust" "The Secret Sky brilliantly captures the magic and the heartbreak of Afghanistan as only someone rooted in its mystery can....This first novel by a top foreign correspondent has the authenticity of raw journalism and the poetry of a gifted writer. A must read for anyone who wants to understand the contradictions of the Afghan soul." -Andrea Mitchell, NBC News Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent and anchor of "Andrea Mitchell Reports" "A riveting tale written from the heart....This powerful love story will leave you angry at injustice, and awed by courage. It shocks and inspires." -Lyse Doucet, Chief International Correspondent, BBC

Learn More

Summary

Summary

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from NBC foreign news correspondent Atia Abawi Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan. Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come. Advanced Praise for THE SECRET SKY: "["The Secret Sky" is] a tale of the indomitable Afghan spirit of hope and love. Among the many novels set in Afghanistan for young people or for adults, "The Secret Sky" stands alone. Unputdownable. Unforgettable." -Trent Reedy, author of "Words in the Dust" "The Secret Sky brilliantly captures the magic and the heartbreak of Afghanistan as only someone rooted in its mystery can....This first novel by a top foreign correspondent has the authenticity of raw journalism and the poetry of a gifted writer. A must read for anyone who wants to understand the contradictions of the Afghan soul." -Andrea Mitchell, NBC News Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent and anchor of "Andrea Mitchell Reports" "A riveting tale written from the heart....This powerful love story will leave you angry at injustice, and awed by courage. It shocks and inspires." -Lyse Doucet, Chief International Correspondent, BBC

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Atia Abawi

Author Bio: Atia Abawi

Atia Abawi is a foreign news correspondent who was stationed for almost five years in Kabul, Afghanistan. She was born to Afghan parents in West Germany and was raised in the United States. She currently lives in Jerusalem with her husband, Conor Powell.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 7.68
Audience: Adult
Language: English