The Sky at Our Feet by Nadia Hashimi audiobook

The Sky at Our Feet

By Nadia Hashimi
Read by Kirby Heyborne

HarperCollins 9780062421937
6.87 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $19.49

    ISBN: 9781538500712

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781538500705

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated. When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do. After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it’s hard to feel American now when he’s terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he’s overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle—even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won’t be able to run forever.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Kirby Heyborne, the perfect choice to narrate this timely, heart-wrenching story, embodies the voice of Jason D…Heyborne’s ability to get inside the the head of Jason and sound like a twelve-year-old boy brings this story to life…Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Hashimi addresses the plight of undocumented immigrants while taking readers on a glorious, madcap race through Manhattan.…A winsome supporting cast, snappy dialogue, and nonstop adventures just shy of fantastic make this a thought-provoking, heartwarming page-turner.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Gripping…An important book with a well-crafted plot that is sure to linger.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“The familiar trope of two adolescents escaping from a hospital to pursue an adventure is enhanced by the timely theme of American identity amid the immigrant experience and is nicely textured with details of the New York cityscape. …The story is fast-paced and engaging with sympathetic protagonists who raise thought-provoking contemporary issues…Absorbing.” School Library Journal
“Jason’s strong narrative voice illustrates the plight of a family torn apart and what it means to be an American child of an undocumented parent. His uncertainty about the future is palpable, and the kids’ need to stay under the authorities’ radar mirrors the dilemma of thousands of families in our country.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nadia Hashimi

Author Bio: Nadia Hashimi

Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. Both her parents were born in Afghanistan and left in the early 1970s, before the Soviet invasion. In 2002, she made her first trip to Afghanistan with her parents. She is a pediatrician and the author of three books for adults, as well as the middle-grade novels One Half from the East and The Sky at Our Feet

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.87
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English