The Woman at the Light by Joanna Brady audiobook

The Woman at the Light: A Novel

By Joanna Brady
Read by Hillary Huber

Blackstone Publishing 9781250003560
10.72 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781455125555

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781455125562

    Free shipping on orders over $35Usually Ships within 2-3 days

In the tradition of Leila Meacham and Dorothea Benton Frank comes a stunning debut novel about a well-born Southern woman who finds courage and strength to overcome tragedy with an unexpected new love. One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry’s husband vanishes from Wreckers’ Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but to take charge of Wreckers’ Cay and her husband’s duties tending the light to support her three children—and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. At first, Emily is intensely wary of this strange, charming man, whose very presence there is highly illegal. But Andrew proves himself an enormous help and soon wins the hearts of the Lowry family. Far from the outside world and society’s rules, his place in Emily’s life, as steadfast now as the light, will forever change their futures. When Emily’s family is ripped apart once again, she faces untold hardships that test her love and determination and show how the passionate love of a defiant, determined woman can overcome any obstacle.

Learn More

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Leila Meacham and Dorothea Benton Frank comes a stunning debut novel about a well-born Southern woman who finds courage and strength to overcome tragedy with an unexpected new love.

One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry’s husband vanishes from Wreckers’ Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but to take charge of Wreckers’ Cay and her husband’s duties tending the light to support her three children—and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. At first, Emily is intensely wary of this strange, charming man, whose very presence there is highly illegal. But Andrew proves himself an enormous help and soon wins the hearts of the Lowry family. Far from the outside world and society’s rules, his place in Emily’s life, as steadfast now as the light, will forever change their futures. When Emily’s family is ripped apart once again, she faces untold hardships that test her love and determination and show how the passionate love of a defiant, determined woman can overcome any obstacle.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An enthralling tale of the days when wreckers ruled the seas and a beautiful woman was fair game.” Mary Cross, author of Madonna: A Biography
“Emily is an authentic heroine, relating her story in the manner of a late-life flashback, recounting her missteps and hardships with detached stoicism and her better memories with more poetic feeling…A delightful homage to the industries and people of nineteenth-century Key West as well as a moving love story with a light, mysterious twist.”  Booklist
“In her richly nuanced novel, Brady has created a heroine readers are unlikely to ever forget…An absolutely fantastic and unputdownable read!” Michelle Moran, nationally bestselling author
“Part history, part romance, told in clear prose, The Woman at the Light is compelling and rewarding.” Daphne Kalotay, author of Russian Winter
“A guaranteed good read!” Mark Howell, editor of Solares Hill
“Forbidden love, passion, greed, revenge, and murder…[Brady] knows how to stop your heart on one page and pull your heart strings on the next. Along the way, she weaves in a suspenseful mystery with a surprise ending; I could not put the book down and neither will you.” John Viele, author of the The Florida Keys: A History of the Pioneers

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Joanna Brady

Author Bio: Joanna Brady

Joanna Brady’s novel was inspired by Key West’s colorful history and its female lighthouse keepers in the nineteenth century. She divides her time between Key West and a stone cottage in a medieval village in the Southwest of France.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 10.72
Audience: Adult
Language: English